Memory chip

0 41
Avatar for wakeupkitty
6 months ago

Where is Luc, Tom wants to know.

Where is Brigit, Jane asks as she hands him a cup of tea.

Brigit is sick, blocked bowel or something.

Luc isn't joining us anymore, Sam interrupts. Can I have a cup of tea too, please?

The group is complete without Luc but without Brigit, it feels ...

Both Jane and Sam suddenly seem a lot more talkative.

I hope she isn't in too much pain, Jane says. Is she still on the 6th floor?

Jane inquiring about Brigit is something new. Previously, she always complained about the constantly grinding jaws, the large amounts of cookies and the mess Brigit made while eating.

It's nice of you to ask about her, Sam mumbles. Tom doesn't seem to hear him, but Jane's eyes light up with every sound and gesture Sam makes.

Shall we sit together this time, I propose. It is a daring proposal because keeping a distance is what everyone has done so far.

Good, Sam says and Tom looks at him gratefully. The disadvantage of relationships is that they hinder the sense of community. Those who are in love have no eyes for anyone other than that one and only special, specimen person.

How are you, I ask Tom when we are all sitting around the table. The usually noisy man looks timid. Jane has put down a full pot of tea. Sam sits next to her and she suddenly is just as silent as in recent weeks.

How am I doing? I'm worried about my love. She will get better, right? I hear her moaning in pain through the wall, Tom answers. I have never felt so lonely and paralyzed. I don't know if I can ever forget those sounds. I wish I had a memory chip so I could have it erased.

A memory chip? That would be useful for those who can't remember anything, Sam notes, what do you think, Jane?

Jane hesitates. Not being able to remember anything sounds nice, she says softly, but what if the same thing happens again when... her voice falters. I don't want to go back, I want to stay here. I don't want to forget what it was like.

I think we naturally forget or at least forget the sharpest edges of our lives, I say. Forgetting everything is not a solution for me either, maybe not hearing everything is? Shall we take a walk and buy Brigit some flowers or a nice book? A little distraction does a person good, I suggest.

We will, says Sam and he looks at Tom, after that, we can take a little nap before we visit Brigit. Everything will be fine Tom, she is not the first one with a blocked intestine. She's a strong girl, a survivor.

Greetings from the 6th floor

25-10-2023

The photos are taken by me.

3
$ 0.51
$ 0.51 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for wakeupkitty
6 months ago

Comments