Lost ear

3 29
Avatar for wakeupkitty
3 years ago

The flies did it. The stable flies managed to harm an ear of one of my wolfhounds (a wolf-dog breed) badly enough that it is ripped off. I wish it was different but it's not. Each year the amount of flies increases and by now it's hard to believe we were ever able to sit outside, even sunbath in our garden. Being here is no longer fun. Each one of my wolf's misses parts of their ears.

It doesn't matter how much pesticides I use, neither does the brand, the little monsters attack and literally rip the skin off your bones. Even if you wear clothes.

I saw the blood and smelled the rotten skin long before I noticed how bad the ear was. I am not kidding. I saw a lot, smelled even more during my years as a caretaker of the sick and dying but a skunk doesn't smell as bad as this poor animal did. It broke my heart and there was nothing I could do except for moving it and chain it. His behavior changed and he crawled into the shed, only came out as I passed by. He ate but only because I gave it. I saw the holes through his ear. The light shone through it. One day later the ear was ripped off for the biggest part. To be honest I hadn't expected that. Did he rub against a tree, wall, a door, or kept it into the water? The ear just hung there, only 1 centimeter left attached to its head. It annoyed him and seeing it made my stomach turn and feel guilty. If an animal is harmed I consider it my fault. His life here, life in the country sucks thanks to an increasing amount of sheep! Dirty, for the biggest part even sick sheep walking on their elbows!

Those pesticides, so-called sprays, drops, ampuls, and what more the pharmaceutic industry fools us with are not only expensive but if it helps at all it's not more than for one week only.

I try not to pass by too much because he needs his rest and rest is not in it if I disturb. Dogs, especially this breed are always active, alert no matter how miserable they feel. I saw it with the German shepherds. They continue till they literally drop dead. You won't see many humans do that.

A vet is no option. If it comes to that the pandemic and his nature are in the way. This means nature has to heal him and if not he dies. If I see the ear, smell him it's the best. You need to be though to survive this, survive without being able to defend yourself in a world people messed up.

#kittywu #pets #stablefly #sheep # nature

1
$ 0.07
$ 0.07 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for wakeupkitty
3 years ago

Comments

I wasn't sure flies could do that. I only knew that they would spit out acid from their mouths to melt things and make it easier for them to digest it

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Outch. I had no idea that flies can do something like that. In which country do you live?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That is so sad to hear my dear :(

$ 0.00
3 years ago