Laptop

5 32
Avatar for wakeupkitty
2 years ago
Topics: Life, Laptop, Writing, Thoughts, Freewrite, ...

There I am back at the beginning. Who would have thought it? Not me, I can tell you. Whether it will all go faster remains to be seen. So far, I miss the conveniences my phone has and Grammarly is one of them. The laptop, my old laptop has been brought back to life after all these years by the bus child. Very unexpectedly and it took a few years until my child was old enough to understand what caused the crash. The child was right and that as a parent I am proud of it and hope that the 60 euros it cost to fix the lost laptop will not be short-lived. My Compaq laptop is old. Not as old as my practical HP notebook that travelled everywhere with me for many years, but almost as old although it was not used nearly as much. Who knows, maybe those years of loss will be made up for now that typing is possible again. You would think that with ten fingers blind, you could save a lot of time, but that is not the case. The difference between typing on a laptop, indeed I still do that with ten fingers blind despite not having used the laptop for years but what do you want after many years of typing experience, and on a phone is that I think differently. Over the years I got used to my phone. For years I typed on my phone while lying on my side in bed. You start thinking differently and you type in a different rhythm. Now I type faster and it seems like the stories have died in my head. I sit up straight and let my fingers do the work, but that's it.

If you think it's nonsense, that it doesn't matter whether you sit up or stand on your back, you're wrong. Writers have a certain way of working, a certain posture that allows them to think better and therefore to write better. I think I have written about this before. If you don't feel like searching through my endless list of articles and reading everything, just search the internet. There are writers who write standing up, while for others the brain only works optimally while lying down. When you think about it, it is not so strange. We are more creative when we are lying down, taking a shower, dozing off, so why not take the opportunity to write? Those who sit upright at their desks waiting for inspiration soon have to deal with writer's block or are distracted by the Internet and the many other jammers that are often installed on the PC. Fortunately, I am not too bothered by these. My old laptop can connect to the Internet but that is all there is to it. I don't use it to read e-mail and I don't use it for online shopping or to look for something on the Internet. With the exception of a picture of an emu on the desktop, there are not even any photos on it. The old Compaq is a glorified typewriter with which I can probably not even print anything (anymore), but it still has a CD player. So if I need it, I can play a music CD or watch a film. Who knows, maybe even the old movies I made years ago from photos of our trips. In the coming days, I am going to try and find out if I can still work with a laptop and if so, what would be the best way for me to do it. I am not used to a beast on my lap for too long. A phone in my hand is a lot more practical, especially because a photo is taken in an instant, but also because as soon as I have some ideas or inspiration, I can write. Taking out a laptop first, plugging it in (the battery is dead and as most laptop users know, batteries are not the cheapest parts) and waiting for it to start up is not really conducive to writing. In the meantime, I have been possessed for quite some time and I wonder: wouldn't I have been faster if I had typed this text with one finger on my phone?

#kittywu #laptop #life #freeewrite

7
$ 5.86
$ 5.76 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Ellehcim
$ 0.03 from @foryoubtc09
+ 1
Avatar for wakeupkitty
2 years ago
Topics: Life, Laptop, Writing, Thoughts, Freewrite, ...

Comments

The phone has always been my bestie cos it gives me that easiness of a carry about and usage whenever I feel to do so and my network system seems very fast on my phone as well

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think I work better with my phone. Despite it being multi-purpose, I find I still focus more on the task at hand if I'm working with my phone

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, that's how it feels to me too. I use my phone to edit, for pictures, to answer. I will give it a try but am not sure if I keep using it. It's good it works but that's all.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm not very good with the phone when it comes to typing, so I always use a laptop to type and the best ideas always come to me on the toilet. I just use a notepad or a voice recorder on the phone, so as not to forget ideas or sentences.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can type fast but I can't work the same I'm used to since years with my phone. Now I need to force myself. Still, edit with my phone and write this with my phone too. 🤔

$ 0.00
2 years ago