In my line of sight

0 36
Avatar for wakeupkitty
7 months ago

"Are you alright Jane?"

The fact she was quiet for a change was worrying. Jane did not respond. She gazed at the broken lamp. Slowly she raised and shuffled to the door, she hesitated.

"It's fine, you can go to your room, take a shower and rest ..."

"... or three or four, if you like ten Dusty Jane", Sam mumbled.

I wondered if Jane understood what he meant. She smiled at him and said, "Sam you are the best."

The door closed quietly behind her.

"How about the lamp", Tom liked to know.

"Take a biscuit dear." Brigit shoved a handful in his open mouth. Tom coughed and coughed, and coughed, and tried not to choke.

"Here take a coke", Luc offered while he snatched one out of his backpack. "Hot tea or coffee does not do the trick. Now can we talk about me again doc, since no one is interested in introducing himself?"

"Boring", Sam said and he turned himself around on his chair. The rest of the group could watch his back, it was his way of making a statement.

"You can introduce yourself." I looked at Luc. Would he give in?

"Why should I? You already made up your mind and labelled me. You know I have issues trusting people, I am fine with that. You know who I am and who you are. Dusty Jane left, Sam in the corner is showing his back, and Tom nearly died in a handful of his biscuits shove upon him by his love who clearly wants him to shut up.

Out of experience, I can admit that Brigit here is great at smothering people. Girl that wasn't a hug you gave you could have killed me.

Do you mind? I rather sit somewhere else."

Did I hear Sam grin in the corner? I couldn't help smiling myself.

"Go ahead, Luc. You have the right to sit where you like as long as you stay in my line of sight."

"Is this it is as it is? How come I still feel catfished? Are you a doctor for real? So far about freedom, equality, democracy, free choice of, and..."

"What's your problem", Tom interrupted. "I told you we are already a handful. I don't know why you stay, go. You have a bed and the recreation room is straight ahead of the hallway."

Luc looked annoyed. Tom had interrupted him and just destroyed his entry preaching. 

"Tom does not bake. The ones in the bag are homemade, but not by him. Mom brought them after the gym. We wanted to celebrate with you all.

Well, that is before the broken cable and the lamp fall... ", Brigit declared. She preferred to ignore what both just had said. Her world was grey, not black or white. She hated to fight.

"Sorry", Luc said, "for spoiling it for you two. I feel bad. Are there still biscuits in that bag? You could check on Jane, tell the big news while offering her a snack. I bet today she'll accept that."

This session is over

Greetings from the 6th floor

20230929_182155.jpg

The photo was taken by me

29-09-2023

2
$ 0.02
$ 0.02 from @gertu13
Avatar for wakeupkitty
7 months ago

Comments