I am proud

0 13
Avatar for wakeupkitty
3 years ago

to be...

You say that frequently? Perhaps you shout it out? You are proud to be...
To be what? A parent, an adult, a wealthy man, a VIP perhaps or ...

Is there a reason to be proud? What exactly does proud mean? The dictionary says:
"Proud is a feeling. A feeling deep of pleasure or satisfaction. This feeling is a result of one's own achievements, qualities, or possessions or those of someone with whom one is closely associated."

This means I can be proud of me of what I achieved. I can be proud of my child, partner and family if they did something great.
This also means I can be proud of owning my own house, my special dog and a flatscreen television or the car my parents own.

What I cannot be proud of is the color of my skin, the size of my feet, the quality of my hair and the whiteness of my teeth.
Neither can you. Why not? Because it's nothing you achieved, you are born with it.


I am proud to be...
A shout we are all familiar with. A cry out most of us do not use. If you know yourself, have self-esteem there's no point in shouting out loud.
If you do it, the only one for who you are doing this is yourself.
The thing is if you repeat something frequently enough the brain starts believing it. This can be good if you suffer from low self-esteem and that is why therapists tell you to do it.

Write down some good things about you and read this a few times a day. Embrace yourself and shout it out. Be proud of yourself.

If you do it long enough it can help you to believe in you.
Once that has happened the only thing you need to do is to make others believe it as well. If that will happen by repeating yourself, keep bragging about something you didn't achieve is questionable. Better not overdo it. There is a huge possibility they label you as a stupid anti-social narcissist and avoid you whenever they can. Something that won't do your self-esteem any good for sure.

3
$ 0.00
Avatar for wakeupkitty
3 years ago

Comments

This also means I can be proud of owning my own house, my special dog and a flatscreen television or the car my parents own.

I don't quite agree with that. If I had built the car or the house myself, I could be proud of it, but from my point of view, ownership alone cannot be a reason to be proud.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

According to the dictionary it counts. I did not built my car but I designed one house once and renovated where I live in now. It was just walls and a roof. Not that it's perfect. 🤔

I am proud of my wolves though 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Dictionary says so and I speak my mind. Indirectly I can be proud of my car if I earned the money for it with honest work. But if I got the car as a gift, I cannot be proud of it. I can only be proud of my achievement. And other things I can only be happy about.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, you are right, @Telesfor, there is a distinction there, even if not everyone observes it in practical use.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

To be or not to be that is the question. You have correctly said that there is huge possibility of labeling as anti-social narcissist and some prefer not to be of..just flow with whatever they are suffering..

$ 0.00
3 years ago