High volume

0 41

Any idea how it feels to be me?

Empathy...

It's not something I can count on.

Too busy, not inquisitive, different from the other peeps, how society looks at me, wants me to be.

This crowded loud place is not different from the world outside.

Extroverts, narcissists, psychopaths, screaming for attention.

They all demand to be noticed, be heard, comforted, seen.

It's hard to remain sane in a place where there is never a moment of silence.

The banging at walls slammed doors and raised voices.

The yelling, crying, screaming, and all those threats were accompanied by the angry faces of the new, unknown enemy.

How come people can never let you be? Just simply let you be?

I did my best, still do, but it's a fact I am not like you.

The only way to be at peace, to give my brain some rest is not medication or group therapy but to stay away from what harms me.

After decades of trying, and giving in I know how to treat me.

My solution is isolation. Silence is healing, noise just distracting. I wish you all would be quiet on the instance and experience how it can be without the continuous high volume since it is deafening.

It was the first time in weeks, if not months, Sam spoke. It was loud enough for everyone to hear.

Did he have to make something clear after our trip on his boat? Like usual he sat in the corner. After he spoke they all understood it was not because he disliked them but because the smallest sound already felt like a concrete drill in his head.

He wasn't a hypochondriac and could be highly sensible but I wondered if his hearing wasn't way better than of the common person.

For sure many people had hearing issues next to the impossibility of concentrating, but Sam's hearing was unique. He definitely heard more and not because he was eavesdropping.

Did the modern human being evaluate in a blind and deaf species?

Sam should do a more specific hearing test. I looked around at the rest of the group. Jane sat opposite Sam, again at her spot close to the door, nodded at him but didn't say a remark.

Sam's words had an impact on the group. For the first time, one could hear a needle drop and best of all it was quiet on the sixth floor. 

Greetings from the 6th floor

11-10-2023

20231010_141851.jpg

All photos are taken by me

4
$ 0.18
$ 0.18 from @TheRandomRewarder

Comments