Give nothing for a change

1 37
Avatar for wakeupkitty
3 years ago

Gifts... You think you make someone happy and achieve the opposite. You do your best, save the food out of your mouth, even go into debts and an unhappy face is your reward. You could cry but say it doesn't matter, you can take it back, change it or sell it on the internet. You thought you did someone good but your 'thank you' is a grumpy, disappointed person who gives you a bad mood. What exactly went wrong?

Many say they love to receive a gift no matter what but reality shows the opposite. What we want is what is on our wishlist and the picture we painted of it. Nothing more nothing less. To our opinion, the one who pleases us has to do it our way, exactly our way. We like our perfume, or no perfume and soap because it's a sign we smell or an easily bought item, not original. We want everything on our list and if possible even more, that bit extra, because that is the sign of care/love. If that's not in it we call the generous giver stingy.

The giver... what to give, what to do if your finances are limited? If you want to please or reward someone but you know it is a lost lost cause in advance? Some are happy with a substitute others only accept the A brand even if the warranted and service is worse. You search the internet, go shop in and out and hope you find something you can afford. A better price, something else, something different. Something special that proves you care. How much easier life would be if you could just grab something from a shelf, wrapped it and didn't care about the gloomy receiver. That person you already know will never be happy with a small gift from your heart.

Is being unsatisfied with a present an adult thing only? For sure it is not. Toddlers already can be monsters, scream and yell at you if what they just thorn apart is not what they expected. These monsters, spoiled monsters, you meet everywhere. A child not able to unwrap a present in a normal way is not excited but greedy. If you observe people unwrap you can tell the difference. To whom a present is still previous and who only cares about the price or getting exactly as what is demanded.

I have been there as a parent. One of mine was never satisfied although it was the only one who received exactly what was asked but... It was never what it had in mind, it looked different in the brochure so much differently.
If you, as a parent or giver, notice it upsets you to buy a gift for a certain person it's time to ask yourself is it worth the try? No matter what you but, if you buy something at all, that person will not be happy and you will feel that.
I decided from that moment on to buy what I like if I bought a gift at all. I gave it with the words "if you don't like it it's no problem I keep it" and I did. From that moment on stress shopping came to an end. I give what I like unless I ask if that person has any wishes.

To me, a gift is a sign of knowing someone. If you know this person's interest it's easier to give something that fits. Something that fits that person and into my budget. I do not care to save for birthdays and December but there's a limit. Those I know are aware of that no matter if these are my children or friends.
These days I don't think gifts are still precious. Most can buy what they like and not many are still happy with a bunch of flowers picked outside or a homemade cake.



What gift do you give to the person who has everything, you might ask.
A person who has everything is no exception to me. If you are aware of this person's likes, hobbies, interests you can always find something to brighten up this person's day, to show you care and that's what counts. If that person refuses a gift it's fine with me too since I do not like to waste money and a gift shouldn't end up in the trash can. Food, something that will be used, or money make good gifts and to some (one of my children) cryptocurrency is too.

If you do not know what to give a gift shop can be a great help. It wasn't the only present the youngest received (gave up on wishing lists a few years ago but is happy with everything) but this 'nothing' gave a good laugh and still does.

A precious gift comes from the heart and occurs a good laugh.


#kittywu #parenting #life #gifts

5
$ 5.96
$ 5.96 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for wakeupkitty
3 years ago

Comments

Are gifts really pleasing to those who receive them? This is an inappropriate question to ask. However, after reading what you wrote, I started a conversation with myself. Can gifts buy happiness?

Gifts are part of the habit. In fact, in my country, the custom of giving gifts has become a culture. However, there is no compulsion in giving gifts. In fact, if you know someone so closely. The gift can be something that has no physical form.

Gift, oh gift, what should I give to my friend?

$ 0.00
3 years ago