Foster parent

10 20
Avatar for wakeupkitty
3 years ago

I was a parent, a foster parent.
I thought I would do something good, something good for a child in need. I had many children and they all stayed longer as expected.

Here you can only be a foster parent if you did some course, passed it and if the organisation for foster parents agrees. If they don't like you you can forget about it. If you are white the rules are way stricter as when you are black.
I was a foster parent and I did the job alone. I was young, had a job and was single and been accepted.



I choose the crisises.

Crisis means they drop a child or more on your doorstep and you can deal with it for the next hours or days, till the moment they found a (better) home or the child goes back home. I guess the better home was never found because mine stayed way longer. Might be this organization simply fooled the foster parent(s) and thought once you have it you will keep it.



Being a foster parent drains you.


It's not the child that does but all those extra things they expect you to do. Weekly social work stops by to inform how or what. They talk with you. The child has a social worker too which you need to let in. Parents show up, so do friends of the child. The child is frequently dragged out of the house or school by CPS and knows nothing, is dumped at a stranger's house with nothing else as the clothes they wear.



For a foster child, you do not receive child support.


Child support goes to the mother.
The organization pays you a but for what is called "breath - bath - bed". You can buy food, wash the clothes but not pay school fees, buy a bike, clothes, shoes, glasses, etc. You have to pay this as a foster parent yourself. You cannot live from what they pay which means you need a job to provide in yourself and the kid of someone else. A kid that you need to live according to their standards.
A room if it's own for example. Foster children are not allowed to share rooms with you or other children. They say it's for your own safety too.



My first child is a daughter.


A good, smart, introvert girl. She was taken out of the classroom and dumped on my doorstep. They told me she tried to commit suicide and gave me her pills. She was 16 and drugged and no one knew why she tried to kill herself.
I kept the pills and didn't know what to do. How awkward she must have felt.

"They say you need to take these pills because you tried to cut your wrists. Are you? If not we throw these pills away."

"I won't."

She went to her room, we got ready for the night and believe me I slept with my ears wide open.
She didn't kill herself, was the sweetest girl I ever met, and her grades at school increased.
It wasn't hard to have her around and if someone would have listened to her he/she would have known what was killing her for real. I should say who was killing her.

No one listened, what she said was not believed.

They ignored me because foster parents do not count, their opinion does not. It wasn't her dead who wasn't the kindest person around but mom's new boyfriend. It was the old preacher who turned out to be more than a church and community leader he was a dirty old man as well.

No one heard her screaming. She was raped, locked in a mental institution, had to stay in a hole alone. No one cared about the girl who could easily go to university and played violin.

And what about me? I cared but I was no longer allowed to see my daughter. They said I was a threat to her.

6
$ 0.53
$ 0.53 from @Telesfor
Avatar for wakeupkitty
3 years ago

Comments

It must be sad to not be able to see your daughter. I'm not really familiar how foster family works but I have great respect to foster parents. Caring for a child that's not yours must be hard and when it's time for them to leave and you are already attached to them. 😔

$ 0.00
3 years ago

A very sad story...I wish she is doing well now. Wherever she is.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

If kids or teens commits horrible things, or behaving weird. It must be a psychological issues the effects of their traumatic experience, they just need someone to lean on and someone who listens without judgement eventually they will come out and break the wall they built thinking it could protect them and will start to bloom slowly.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

And what if no one listened? This child was not believed and locked into a madhouse.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Then she'll be a pity if she can't overcome everything. So sad for her, I've been like that before it's not easy good thing I met someone who listen to me in everything and help me overcome. Moral support is the only cure for phsycological disorder.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Adults did break her. They didn't believe her. Tied her up in isolation for years. If a sane person is treated like insane, kept worse than an animal please, explain to me how she should escape out of isolation. Get over it find moral support if they do not allow her to have visitors, write, call?

I am happy to hear you were able to find some. 🍀

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well if that's what happens, maybe you can report it as child abuse, this is clearly child abuse. Nobody should be isolated specially a child. Then that kid will be on child protections agency that's the least you can do to help her. If not then she'll get crazy.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is the interesting thing. The child was taken away from the mother (I wrote that) and brought by me by CPS but the social worker forced it to see the mother and her friend. At their house nothing changed. End of the story it went wrong while staying with her mother and they sent her to a madhouse. CPS did this.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

What a pity that girl is going through, I wish she can seek help soon. Poor little girl 😢

$ 0.00
3 years ago

She is no longer a girl.

$ 0.00
3 years ago