Fast & dirty

0 29
Avatar for wakeupkitty
1 year ago
Topics: Diary, Life, Children, Parenting, Writing, ...

Are you still writing, a friend asked after I informed how she is doing and wished her a great weekend.

Yes, I still write although by now it's no longer the first thing I do and I admit at times it's fast and dirty. Summer, better weather changes everything. I needed and wanted to do something else instead of writing stories which I even do when I'm asleep. So that well of tales is dry at the moment. One day I might start writing tales again. There are brief moments I feel the spirit and have all those fantastic stories popping up in my mind and I feel so excited about writing again.

But... The fact is I never ended editing what I already wrote and I feel that there's no longer the need to. A phone doesn't make that task easier either.

In about 1.5 weeks the children go back to school. They haven't had a vacation at all instead they worked which is different from all those years before. Not each day was as great as it should be so I told them to go to the city to visit the cinema and watch two films. The plan was to do so last weekend but since shops and restaurants were closed or closed earlier they decided to go today.

I must say my day home alone went by fast, too fast.

I decided to invest some time in writing but chatted too and bumped into a site where they offer to learn several languages online. For the first time in years, I ask myself if I should start learning foreign languages again (I said I would never go studying again because it's what I did for the biggest part of my life next to a full-time job).

I'm not sure if it's good for the mood, the mind, and if I'm motivated enough to study for the next ten years but it is a hobby and I could kill time with it (not that I am ever bored). With some luck, I even meet some native speakers.

I asked the youngest if she's interested in DIY online language courses since the option is given to buy all of them. Most likely "all" stands for basic but who cares. Basic can be enough if the motivation and 'addiction remain to study daily for (at least) 17 minutes.

Since it's online I hope the internet won't give up on me. There won't be any books to continue studying, no books, no tapes, no CDs, no videos and in the worst scenario no study mates either. No study mates this means no one to practice with.

Online lessons can be great especially if books are no longer needed.

Books are expensive and schools ask their students to buy the latest edition each year. Since the time I was a student nothing has changed if it comes tother school policies although, the schoolbags little children carry became bigger and heavier.

If you ask me online schooling will be the future just like staying home (what the world will look like I wrote about in one of my tales #nanowrimo).

By now paper is already rare and as the computer became common the plan was already made. to stop the use of so much paper. The opposite happened since everyone with a computer started printing.

Do you like to join me, I texted the youngest while she was out in the city (the theme of our December gifts this year is DIY which means this "present" fits in and I won't start knitting) but we do need some notebooks to write down what we learn.

While I'm writing this I remember there are online language courses (different organizations) that can be downloaded. I have no idea if they are better. If it comes to our memory I truly believe one memorizes the most by reading what is printed on paper (not read on a screen) or if you can learn it from a native speaker in the same way a baby does.

Well, I'll see if I manage to find the money and if we are still motivated by then. At this very moment, I still have a garden to take care of, a seriously ill dying dog, two dumped kittens who need a new home badly plus more bills to be paid within the next few months like higher bills for energy (I hope not), the internet and rent while my income drops and drops and drops.

August 22, 2022

Note: If you recognize this know you are not alone. Try to network, greet, meet, and know as long as you DIY and can be excited about something life is still worth living.

4
$ 3.68
$ 3.57 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Pantera
$ 0.01 from @Adrielle1214
Avatar for wakeupkitty
1 year ago
Topics: Diary, Life, Children, Parenting, Writing, ...

Comments