Farmer's result

22 35

Tomorrow the bus-kid and I took the dirt road. It's an hour walk to the asphalt road which isn't too good either. We called a cab and it might not be a surprise the cab couldn't find the address. We waited for 20 minutes while answering the phone for at least 5 times but the weather is great although to me it still felt cold at 8 a.m.

We passed by the sunflower field. You might remember it from two earlier posts. In the first one, I told you these flowers do not always face the sun. In the second one, I showed the sunrise.

By now most sunflowers do no longer look depressed (head down) but shrunk into the black tiny creatures. If you ask me completely useless. You cannot eat the seeds, not press oil out of it. Why are they still like this on the field?

In reality, they look more black

My child is right. What the grew on the field did look better about three years ago.

Macro option made in the sun

"Perhaps they just grow for the idea, it's worth the money they receive from the EU", my child says. I wonder if he is right. This could be an explanation of why those farmers do not care. They earn anyway. It's cheaper to throw it away.

after...
before...

#kittywu #smartphonephotography #farming

38
$ 0.31
$ 0.31 from @TheRandomRewarder

Comments

Your child is really on track just for the money...day were far off better years ago

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's such a waste of lot and of resources. I wonder why the farmers stopped tending the field when the covid situation doesn't look that bad there

$ 0.00
3 years ago

If my child is right they need to sow something to proof they are farming (4 times a year) and earn with it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Why not sow while they can? That limit isn't that profitable a set up

$ 0.00
3 years ago

They sow but I guess the money given by the EU makes them earn more than furtilizing the earth, taking care of the crops, water them, etc.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ohh so they receive subsidy of sorts? Or is it funds? Either way, it seems they take advantage of it too much and they're wasting so much time doing nothing anyways, why not be productive and farm?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, they do and I suspect it's more left than when they put some effort in their work.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Are you on your way to find your car? Or do you have a parent meeting at the children's school?

I saw that post with the beautiful sunflowers and now I see something happening that also happened in the countryside of my country.

The farmers were subsidized by the government and then the farmer considered the lost harvest and therefore did not pay the subsidy and the crops were thus abandoned.

It's sad what abuse and corruption do to the human mind.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I have also seen sunflower fields. But there I did not see such a big change. I find it a little strange. There is no end to diversity so it can be true. Yet to say the least here one huge change has taken place.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

A few years ago I did not seen such a huge change either. It makes me wonder why the land is wasted and the harvest is. They only plow, sow and harvest dead material months later.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I love the look of the sunflowers. Provided the seeds are useful who cares.

Enjoy your time with your son. Cheers!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

There are no seeds left they are more than dried after months in the sun too. I checked the dead flowers for it. It's just dust.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

So what you're saying is that the sunflowers look more depressed.

It's still a pretty big waste to be planting something and not take the opportunity to earn some extra money out of it, even if the EU funding alone is profitable.. Could you take some sunflowers for yourself if nobody cares anyway?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

By now the flowers look tiny, shrunk and black, dead. I have no idea what the point is. Many do not care about waste as long as they earn.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Then they probably don't mind if you took some flowers and vegetables from their fields next year.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I doubt they care. There are not really vegetables. A bad corn you need to cook for hours. They change what they grow whole year own (yes, even in winter they sow) between sunflowers, wheat, grass, corn and flowers to make gasoline out of. It all is mixed with 40-80% weed.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

To have some seeds to mix with bread dough would be nice, though. And free corn is still free corn. Could you make popcorn out of it?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Free is a waste if you can't digest it and won't eat it. If I had chickens I might have taken it same with the sunflower seeds.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It"

$ 0.00
3 years ago