Fantastic

1 27

Tactic

Hella was in a terrible mood as she arrived at the police office. It didn't became any better as she heard the chief just left.

"Just left what does that mean, just left?" she yelled at the desk officer who wasn't impressed by her appearance not attitude.
"It means exactly what the word "just" means. If you would have paid some attention you could have seen him driving away. Anything else I can help you with?"
He peered over his glasses at the woman of the localpaper, she was someone he didn't particularly liked and most of all she reminded him of Mrs. Gordon and the former chief inspector.
"I wait", she said.
He shrugged his shoulders and pointed into the corner where some benches we're available for those who like to take a seat while waiting.
She raised an eyebrow.
"Nothing more comfortable available?"
"Sorry, this is all we have but it's a good spot. You can see the chief's parking lot."
He grinned and continued with his work. Files and post waited for him and he didn't intend to waste more time on her. He texted the chief about Hella's appearance which should be enough. There was no need to interfere in more than his own business.
While Hella waited and pretended to be busy with her phone she kept a close look at the officer at the front desk and everyone who came in, left and passed by. Ben was one of them and before he knew she followed him down the hall to his office and closed the door behind her.
"Fantastic", he murdered, " just what I need."
"Good to hear that and I am happy to be at your service."
Quickly she observed the room.
"I heard you asked for me. How's Jim and his sister? Still close?"


"It's not of your business who I am close with Hella."
"You used me that evening of the fire..."
He didn't answer.
"I can't help thinking I did you a favor that night. I saw you leaving. Who did you follow?"
She wasn't sure he followed anyone but guessing always worked for her and it was clear she guessed right.
"No need to answer but it's payback time. This department used me a bit too often. What do you have for me?"
The look on Ben's face was real. He had no idea what she wanted, why she followed him.
"What are you talking about? What should I have for you?"
"Your close friend the chief inspector used me, me and the paper for his case..."
It wasn't anger but the danger that sounded through her voice alarming him.
"Why don't you confront him with it? I wouldn't know what I have to do with it..."
"It's up to you dear, you work with me or are against me. You better think of your reputation. Your's and Jim's."
She smiled as she noticed how her words infected him.
"Well then, let's start where the story is finished. I like to continue my chat with Mrs. Gordon... and you... you tell me who you followed, what you found, and what your chief friend is after."
Ben opened his mouth to tell her to leave...
"You better think before you talk inspector. I noticed a certain pattern in the way you operate and I can give you a real hard time. By the way, I have plenty of time. I wait outside till you found the time to do what I asked. It can't be that hard or?"


From behind the bush he watched the house. The police still guarded it and he couldn't say he cared. The only thing he was interested in was what they found inside. Did the police find something at all or was the house only a crime scene because the stupid old lady hit a neighbor down and left him for dead? He didn't feel any regret for her. He had watched how the police had taken her into custody. It was a relief. She had never really liked him, the only person who was kind to him was the other boy. A boy the man had brought home. He had noticed the child was different, different from him, the others but he was kind and gentle, kind, gentle and a bit weird. He dragged a doll with him and said it would protect him from evil. Evil... there had been more evil in that house than anyone could imagine. Most neighbors never questioned what was going on. They all seem to believe Mr. Gordon was a great, social guy with a heart of gold.
Gold? It was closer to granite. There was no need to beg, shed tears in his presence. The doll... he doubted it kept his friend safe. One evening he didn't return. The bed remained empty and the doll... He had found it outside in the trashcan, hid it to keep it safe, hoped it would keep him out of danger too during those scary nights and days.

Chief Inspector Fidelo is out and tries to figure out who's doll was left for them. Hella, the reporter of the local newspaper her job is in danger. Ben is the one who should give her enough information to write a good story. One that will save her neck. Someone hides behind the bush and seems to know more about a doll. A doll from longer ago.

November 1st NaNoWriMo starts. See the site and subscribe if you like to write a novel in November.

#kittywu #freewrite #story #fantastic #crime

4
$ 0.52
$ 0.52 from @TheRandomRewarder

Comments