Economic loss?

4 41
Avatar for wakeupkitty
6 months ago
Topics: Life, Blog, Writing, Blogging, Experiences, ...

How to... Home-made is the best right? But there are times it is the only thing one can do because it is not for sale what you have in mind or... too expensive. Could be it's an economic loss to you but not for me.

We're not crazy about gnomes.

Sometimes you see statues of gnomes standing with several in a garden.

If they exist, they have never done a job for me.

Rien Poortvliet, who made a great book with beautiful drawings about the life and work of gnomes, certainly described the life of the forest gnome.

I do not see them. They never lifted a hand here, not even in the dead of night. How nice would it be to wake up and notice someone washed the dishes, unclogged the sink or toilet, pulled all the weeds, swept the sidewalk, chopped the large logs into pieces and even did the laundry?

There is no gnome to be found here. Not in the house and not in the garden. Would a house elf be more trustworthy?

It started with a joke, the purchase of that one gnome. A Saint Nicholas gift and surprise, handmade, home-made. The gnome never arrived at its destination and remained next to the bed of its maker, my son. Closed borders threw a spanner in the works. Instead of the surprise, a purchased copy was ordered online and sent.

A few years passed and indeed it took a while.

The gnomes, one is actually taking a selfie, are still in front of the window, but they will soon go outside.

Garden gnomes do not belong in the house, the front garden is still free. That will be their final resting place, complete with a gravestone.

Making your own tombstone is cheaper than buying it.

20231004_104223.jpg

Pouring concrete is not difficult. I used the concrete guide and the bottom of a cage.

20231004_104201.jpg

Some chopping (screwdriver and hammer), acrylic paint and acrylic varnish to protect it from water (rain).

20231004_104411.jpg

Who knows, I might make another tombstone to perfect my first attempt. Instead of chopping letters, I want to write them while the concrete is still soft.

20231004_104125.jpg

October 4, 2023

All photos are taken by me.

3
$ 0.10
$ 0.07 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @gertu13
Avatar for wakeupkitty
6 months ago
Topics: Life, Blog, Writing, Blogging, Experiences, ...

Comments

Well written and encouraging

$ 0.00
6 months ago

Hi honey. I have never really put my mind to thinking about whether goblins are hanging around my garden. It would scare the hell out of me to see strange movement. Are you really going to make your own tombstone? It's strange to know that someone will make their own tombstone.

$ 0.00
6 months ago

I made one for the goblins. My daughter wants that with them in the front yard.

I will make one for my dog too.

I would love to make for myself but I'm not buried.

$ 0.00
6 months ago

Ah ok, now I understand. I thought you were going to make one for yourself. I understand they are for pets and your elf. That's nice.

$ 0.00
6 months ago