Don't feed the aliens!

1 32

What is it, I would like to know.

A surprise, he said.

If it came to Dad and surprises...I hesitated and didn't feel motivated to put my book aside.

I'm reading, can't you see I don't have time to have a look at whatever it is you like to show me?

Is it homework or pleasure, he asked.

What about your surprise, I replied, can't it wait? It's getting late and I hate going out at the end of the day.

You are not alone, Miss Grumpy.

Hiking or bicycling, he wanted to know.

Is it far?

It depends dear, far is relative...

Yeah, yeah, I know. I wished Dad wasn't that eager to show me whatever it was.

I wish you had a car it's cold, ice cold, I groaned. My face hurt and I was sure it was as red as a tomato by now. If I had to follow Dad in this tempo my ears and nose would be frozen and fallen off.

Are you happy now, I cried.

Like always he ignored me or was it his voice I heard saying: you could have worn a hat and used your scarf for a change.

Can we walk a bit faster, please 'cause I'm frozen to the bones and before you know there's a trace of pieces of me everywhere.

Don't exaggerate dear you are fine.

After a ten-minute walk, I started feeling hungry. It was a dumb plan to follow the man in front of me just because he claimed to have a surprise. As if he knew what I liked, well he could but he didn't care about books so it wouldn't pop up in his mind if anyone asked what my favourite present was.

Dad walked on and it was a good thing he seemed to have forgotten I was behind him not in the mood to continue our conversation. My stomach rumbled and all I wanted was to go home.

Here it is, Dad said enthusiastically while swinging the door of a brand-new restaurant with the name 'All Likes Matter' open. I had to admit it smelled delicious.

You are lucky I'm hungry and it actually reeks good, it's warm and looks cosy with those candles all over the place.

I hope we are not too late, Dad said to the waiter after our coats were taken. The man smiled and looked at me.

A table for two? Here's the menu with our side dishes and the card for the drinks sir. If you are ready you can choose your piece of meat so you know what exactly what you eat. You can be assured our cook will prepare only this for you. It will be served with three sauces of your choice.

Dad was right what we saw over there was a huge surprise. The meat stood lined up watching, hoping, praying...

'Don't feed the aliens', the sign in front of them said. Trust me I had no intention to, I had lost my appetite at first sight.

I screamed loud and before Dad could apologize I ran out. A slice of bread was waiting for me on the kitchen table.

20240122_141534.jpg

The photo was taken by me

22-1-2024

I am a mobile writer only

[

4
$ 0.00

Comments

Cool

$ 0.00
2 months ago