Do not weigh me

0 42


Doc who's that, Luc wanted to know.
Indeed there's a new kid in town, or should I say on the sixth floor.

Ask him, he can tell you if he wants to, Luc.

The idea of a new group member did never pop up in Luc's mind.
He observed the new fellow.
Closely watched him, ready to pick a fight.
His eyes never left the newcomer out of sight.

What about me?
Aren't we with too many already?

Feel free to leave, mumbled Sam from his corner. He still couldn't stand Luc.
The two hadn't come any closer since the boat trip.

Abruptly, out of the blue, our new member turned around, and yelled at Luc, while his eyes spat fire: What do you want from me? Take your hands off me, don't weigh me!

So you are a total fruitcake, Luc declared, what the heck, doc!
Isn't this group already crazy enough?

We can vote.

No, not another election.

There's nothing wrong with me, Sam let out.
Or with me, Jane replied. Be happy that you are allowed to stay here.

Don't pretend you two are normal! All the idiots are in cahoots. If you were normal you wouldn't be locked up here, declared Luc.

Let's get started, I suggested cheerfully.
Look, there are Tom and Brigit too.
You all have a cup of tea, do you?
Today we'll sit in a circle. Sam and Jane, you too. It's fine if you keep 1 chair distance. One chair only.

It's the first time we are doing this. Time to try something new.

Let's introduce ourselves to our new group member, I said, I'm the doctor here.
I nodded at Brigit.

Hi, I'm Brigit.
I've just been sick, plus I am on a diet.
This is my dear Tom.

Hello, I'm Sam and that's Jane,
I'm here voluntarily by the way.

Me too, Jane said, I don't want to be home.
I've developed a cleaning neurosis you know.
My husband...
Well, I can't stand
Dirt... better not shake my hand.

Our recruit listened without interruptions.
He looked absent.
The group is surprisingly communicative,
even though Luc talked about his obsession and stalking behaviour he didn't seem to feel the need to respond.

When it was finally quiet he said: I understand why you all are mad.
No wonder you're locked up here.
But hey, I have a good remedy
You don't need that shrink at all.
What you need is a hobby, amusement
Honestly,
I can't say it's nice to meet you
I don't want to share anything
Or care what you do.
There are only 3 things you should know
I'm Hank
I'm unique
I'm the one and only cockroach trainer.

Greetings from the 6th floor

21-11-2023

1
$ 0.00

Comments