Contacted by aliens

1 34
Avatar for wakeupkitty
3 months ago
Topics: Writing, Freewrite, Alien, Life, Kittywu, ...

If I hear the word 'alien' I always think of Sting, the song he sang.

It's hard to figure out why that song once impressed me so much that I will never forget it and an alien is exactly what he sang about. A foreigner is a person, unlike the rest of the society. Someone with different habits, norms and values. A person like me. I've been raised in a country, and society between people where I never felt at home, was never liked and always been the black I wish Isheep in the flock (if not the wolf), the ugly duckling, the stealing gipsy, dirty Indo or whatever people could make up.

I don′t drink coffee, I take tea, my dear

I like my toast done on one side

And you can hear it in my accent when I talk

I'm an Englishman in New York

And while I sip my tea and try to drink coffee once in a while to fit in, I know after all these years I still am not welcome in the country I was born and raised in. No matter where I go it follows me everywhere.

Maybe the old-fashioned way of being raised with the whip and dog leash did it, or was it due to the housekeepers, cleaning ladies or the nanny?

See me walking down Fifth Avenue

A walking cane here at my side

Take it everywhere I walk

I′m an Englishman in New York

I wish I always have a cane by my side or an umbrella but I have not. I try to fit in and to live unnoticed because people easily feel offended these days. I try to let them be even though they don't treat me the same.

Woah, I'm an alien, I'm a legal alien

I′m an Englishman in New York

Woah, I′m an alien, I'm a legal alien

I′m an Englishman in New York

Norms, values, self-education, being dressed just like politeness and kindness are very rare in the world I live in.

I am an alien and am still hoping to be contacted by aliens just like me. Not to complain but to fill a part of that hole inside of me and to sing along with Sting together.

If manners maketh man, as someone said

He's that hero of the day

It takes a man to suffer ignorance and smile

Be yourself no matter what they say

Woah, I′m an alien, I'm a legal alien

I′m an Englishman in New York

Woah, I'm an alien, I'm a legal alien

I′m an Englishman in New York

Modesty, propriety can lead to notoriety

You could end up as the only one

Gentleness, sobriety are rare in this society

At night a candle′s brighter than the sun

Takes more than combat gear to make a man

Takes more than a license for a gun

Confront your enemies, avoid them when you can

A gentleman will walk but never run

If manners maketh man, as someone said

He's that hero of the day

It takes a man to suffer ignorance and smile

Be yourself no matter what they say

Being yourself isn't easy. It's sadly enough exactly what the community despises about me.

15-1-2024

The title is the prompt used.

3
$ 0.00
Avatar for wakeupkitty
3 months ago
Topics: Writing, Freewrite, Alien, Life, Kittywu, ...

Comments

Crazy

$ 0.00
3 months ago