Christians & Christmas

17 40
Avatar for wakeupkitty
3 years ago

I wonder why there is, in some countries, a Christmas season. I do not understand where the whole idea of the season comes from. It sounds like a big commercial to a celebration everyone should celebrate with presents, expensive presents.

In the Netherlands, it never was a custom to celebrate Christmas with gifts. At school, each child received an orange, a chocolate ring with a red ribbon, and a book. The book was written by an ln author who praised the lord and it always takes bout poor farmers, praying, an accident before Christmas, and a sort of happy end. Most likely this author was raised in such a family and for your information, it all happened during cold winters, we wore skirts and wooden shoes and ice skating was a skill we all had. At home, Christmas meant a tree decorated and some of us received the tree from school since it closed down for two weeks.

As times were better people made reservations at restaurants. Real good restaurants, not the fast food ones who charge for first-class restaurant prices. You needed to make your reservation early. For some restaurants, 6 months ahead but the restaurants closed down during Christmas. The economical crises, already started 20 years ago, kept the customers at home. These days we all can cook something exclusive and if not some supermarkets sell a box with all ingredients to make your life easier. Turkey or goose is no longer meant to be food for Christmas.

Christmas Eve, December 24, is not a celebration day in the Netherlands. We work and all shops are open. Christians might go to church at midnight. The church visit is basically what we Christians call Christmas.

Times change and other cultures their habits are forced upon our throat. Next to being a loser if you spend Christmas alone or prefer not to celebrate it, you need to buy presents. The shops tell you, the commercials want you to, your family, and friends force you to do so and even if you give in to it the end result is: unhappy, angry friends because they do not like the gift you bought, disappointed and fighting families, and high debts. You could cry because this special day was a waste of everything but you are not allowed to because it is all about happiness, hallelujah, hope, and love although you cannot feel it.

If the preach at church was heard at all it's forgotten before we arrive home. Presents wait and so does the good food. Even if the food is vegetarian and we have no clue how to cook something tasty and long for a huge pepper steak.

I cannot be part of this "fun". I am not a Christian I do not visit the church. Church and the people visiting it are not the ones I connect with. I do not like to visit Christmas parties or buy food and gifts I cannot afford. Gifts people will change or sell right after Christmas. I want to do what I like, spend this day (with us two days December 25 and 26) the way I like. Most likely in pajamas watching movies.

I try hard to understand what Christmas, a birthday, has to do with all the theatre people build around it. The fake and illusions which come with a lack of real love and being close. In reality, Christmas is disappointing. Something is promoted what only makes people more miserable and depressed. Christians, neither non-Christians open their heart and home to strangers, family, neighbors, those who are sick and lonely. There is no love felt and nothing to share to make at least one day a year this world a better place.

To me it feels like hypocrisy. Customs of earlier celebrations (Midwinter, father winter, the Christmas tree) are stolen from earlier religions. Religions we call pagan, not real.

#kittywu #christmas #christianity

14
$ 3.14
$ 2.64 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.50 from @ErdoganTalk
Avatar for wakeupkitty
3 years ago

Comments

good

$ 0.00
3 years ago

In the old days, the servants felt entitled to be served by their masters this one day. It was almost like a threat.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

In some way I can imagine it feels like a threat. I wonder who did his job best. 💕🤔

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I like to celebrate Christmas with my family and friends. I always do it.

I like to give gifts on those days to the people I love.

I like the date that symbolizes December 24. This date symbolizes the birth of Jesus. Just as I celebrate my friends, I also celebrate my Savior.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

To you it does symbolize that. To many others not and long before it was the celebration of midwinter. Christianity was introduced to many countries by missionary. Without them I wonder what belief people would have.

I hope you can celebrate Christmas the way you like, like we hope to celebrate December 5th.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

People have the belief that those who do not read or approach knowledge have.

You will only see what you want to see if you cannot see what it really is.

I also hope to celebrate. If God allows it with this pandemic. Thank you for your wishes.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

If we like to celebrate or remember a birthday, why not remember the birthday of a being who was born on earth like us and who despite so many years is still remembered for his work of love and teaching that he gave us. He taught us to lead life with honesty, love and humility; I like Christmas because it is the day we meet the family, we have time that we do not see each other, we share a small meal and we have a good time. The church is not visiting it, it is having our own faith and being grateful for what is good or what is happening to us. I have the tradition of placing a nativity scene (nativity scene) just to remember Mother Nature who gives us life, to remember the family and an event that always repeats itself in our lives for years. to have a rich or poor son, the sacrifice of a mother for her son. the joy of the moment of birth for our family. I do not adore images, I only represent a family, which can be mine or any other that exists on earth. surrounded by so much beauty that the creator gave us. Christmas is the celebration of life through the birth and continuation of human life.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

So if you celebrate someone else's birthday you buy presents for you and your family?

This is not about celebrating or remembering the birth of Jesus and the reason why he was born but about forgetting these reasons! Please, read what I write. You seem to miss the questions I asked.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It is a hypocrisy. I grew up with the need to celebrate Christmas and go to church at exactly 11pm on the 24th of December just to greet the 25th joyously though i know it's not the case, it's just another reason for people here to get drunk and spend big then soon regret it the day after. So yeh, as i grew up, i came to lose interest in the holiday since you could celebrate charity and generosity on any other day

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That is exactly what I mean. I hear worldwide, esp the USA complain...the good spirit,the way too expensive gifts but this has nothing to do with the whole idea of Christmas. The spirit, light or love. Where are those shining, loving people?

Thanks for responding. I believe you are the only one who read what I wrote or mean to say. 💕

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I hear that just from outside my room every year though 😂 i remember how badly my neighbors fought one time due to debt just a few days before one Christmas. It was ridiculous. The whole holiday became just a farce to me really so i simply wrote my observations throughout the years since i relate to the thought way too much

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hey that's not true. 😭 Christmas is for everyone, whether Christians or non Christians. Sorry but I'm from a country which celebrates Christmas happily, all religions gather together to spend this one time holiday. And for the kids. Christmas is special. The gift giving, singing Christmas carols, happy celebrations, Christmas parties and giving thanks to our Lord. Christmas is my favorite of the year, it only happens once, but full of gifts and joy

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Christmas is not for everyone. If you are not a christian it's not your party. Since about three years over here the muslims fight christmas, the word can no longer be used.

I understand children like gifts that is not the point here. The point is it has totally nothing to do with the birth of Jesus. We made a spectacle out of it which does not fit to the religion.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well, not all human beings are the same. We have our own culture, you have your own, others have their own. We like to celebrate the way we do and you have your own way too. I don't know but we are happy people and don't need to buy an expensive present or going to a high-class restaurant to celebrate. We are contented on what we have to celebrate Christmas, maybe others are not, I don't know. And calling like hypocrisy, I think it all depends on their personal values.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

My dear this article is not about humans not being the same. Neither it is about different customs. It is a question to Christians. Why they stole the habits of religions called pagan by them and why they celebrate in this way. No where the Bible tells this is the way to celebrate the birth of Jesus.

The worst thing is there is not added anything good to the world. Many suffer, many are abandoned, forgotten, never invited. They feel lonesome and depressed. They do not feel love, not hope. Should a Christian not spread that? 🤔

$ 0.00
3 years ago