Broken cable

2 33

If it's all in my head, how do you know it is as it is? He sounded upset.

What makes you think I do, I replied. My dear, it is indeed all in your mind, your thoughts, your creation, your fantasy. No matter what you believe I can't see right through you, I can't crawl into your head like a spider in its web. With me it's more like one plus one is two.

I tried to be understanding and kind to the man in front of me. He deserved it after all that had happened to him. The poor guy lost everything.

One by one the rest of the group entered the room.

Cup of tea or do you prefer coffee with your cookies, Jane snapped at Tom who held a bag with chocolate biscuits in his left hand.

Coffee and tea please, you can fill both mugs, Brigit and I have something to celebrate. Don't forget to serve Sam. The man is quiet, but one of us.

Hi, doc, who's this guy? Cookie?

Tom dropped the biscuits on the new guy's lap and studied his face.

It's not too late yet, he said, you can still leave, we are already a handful. Trust me, this group will drive you crazy. Won't we doc? 

Yes, we will, Brigit answered as she sat down next to Luc, the one who joined the group from today on.

It's not that we are not willing to share, but there are not enough cookies for everyone plus Jane is very annoying. So you are new here?

If you don't mind we are in a conversation and you interrupt, Luc sounded annoyed. At least he learned something after the gang, a group of scammers, destroyed him and his life.

Another man, Jane said. I apologize for not shaking your hand. I rather keep distance. When did you wash them for the last time? What is it that I smell?! Her piercing look would have burned every one to the ground if Sam wouldn't have responded: It's just a broken cable, watch out!

His words were followed by a loud bang. It was the lamp that came down, it hit the floor, just 10 inches away from Jane.

Hallelujah, thank the Lord, he knows how to punish and handle all sorts of sheep, Tom's hand dove deep into the bag: Cookie?

All dusty Jane, still in shock, could do was to accept the gift. Not that she took a bite but at least she avoided a fight.

Tom was satisfied and so were Luc and Sam. One Jane was more than a handful of women.

Let's introduce ourselves briefly, I suggested, say your name and something about you. There's no need to share your entire life right now. Brigit?

Hi, I am Brigit, it's hard to ignore me. If you don't believe me ask Jane or Tom. A broad smile showed on her face as she mentioned the man holding the bag with chocolate biscuits.

Can I hug you, do you want a kiss?

She didn't give Luc time to answer, but immediately grabbed the man where she could and embraced him while whispering: Everything will be alright hon.

Fascinating, Sam said, Luc is gone. How did she do that?

Greetings from the 6th floor_

27-09-2024

lamp-2811693_1920.jpg

source photo

2
$ 0.06
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
$ 0.01 from @TheRandomRewarder

Comments

That's a nice ceiling light you have. Mine is very old and rusty, any minute now I'll be taking it down. I used to love to eat cookies with tea or latte in the afternoons. Only now I don't snack until I've lost most of my excess weight.

$ 0.00
7 months ago

This one isn't mine. Mine fell and broke in 1000 pieces. I hit it as I tried to take off a shirt. :(

$ 0.00
7 months ago