Breakfast with...

0 37
Avatar for wakeupkitty
1 week ago


We could host a contest with 'Breakfast with..." not that I have breakfast. I drink, work and later on I might eat and if not it will be between 3 and 6 pm. My first and most likely last meal of the day.
Btw This morning I had an apple. The children seem to avoid them because they are tasteless. The youngest said the seeds in her apple already sprouted.



Good morning dear friend!


Time flies and we are still around even though you work behind the screens. Let's chat before you leave. Perhaps it gives you some food for the mind if you are on your own or can't sleep.

For a short time, I had, as a teenager, a membership in the weekly magazine 'Debbie' (before 1978). The weekly magazine, mainly cartoons, went 'bankrupt' but for a longer period (several years?) they published twice (?) a year a thick cartoon, story holiday book. It was published before summer and winter and next to that, they published cartoons. Those, mainly black and white, cartoons intrigued me. Why? Because they were about a period of the past 18th perhaps 19th century. Since it was meant for girls, girls were what the stories were about. Rich girls living in villas, poor girls (children) in orphan houses, a bit of  Charles Dickens style. Could be the magazine or at least the cartoons were English. It was drawn very detailed.

Later on, different drawing styles and cartoons were introduced. I was intrigued by one of the cartoons about synchronized swimming. It was the first time I heard about it.


Dancing is art and it takes a lot of practice, strength and discipline to dance. If I watch dancers (on the ice included) I always feel my heartache, so at a certain point, I stopped watching it.


Would any song calm my soul and mind? I thought about what would do the trick but my mind remained empty. There's not one single refrain or phrase I would sing or hum. There's only one name in my head Andreas Vollenweider. but I haven't been listening to him for over 30 years.



Is there music that calms a person?
It all depends on the mood which song does the trick. Sing along or not, a powerful song to stimulate the workspirit, one to through a bad time or express frustration or anger?

I am not into mantras it distracts me just like doodling or drawing/colouring mandalas although I have a green one on the wall (because of the colour).

I am not sure how many years ago it was I had a chat with Irish Hare Krishna staying on a farm in the neighbourhood of Budapest. It was a good, happy chat with kind, happy people and later on I found a 'Hare Krishna' song on YouTube. I played it for a longer time. To me, this is one of the best versions.


The voices are calming, the orchestra is the bit extra I like and that female singer has an amazing voice!

While telling you this I hear 'Luna' isn't that weird?

Music, films, books (!), art, animals, nature make life better if I had to choose I can do without music, without film and by now books too. Most books and stories no longer keep my attention it must be the new way of telling stories and I can write my own stories. There isn't much left for one's fantasy if it comes to modern writing. In between the noise of the world, all those sounds people produce (nature is no exception) I like the sound of silence most. Even though it is never silent for real.


Simon & Garfunkel sing about another silence. The need to speak (out) with other people. Isn't it strange how nothing has changed since the 60s? I always thought technique and modern life would make it easier to communicate. A text only takes a minute to type and send or? Can it be the fact it hardly takes time to stay in touch it's easily said: I'll do it later.




Musicals... It all sounds like a long time ago I watched them. I recently discussed with the youngest how songs in films make everything brighter.
I love the Dutch "Ja zuster, Nee zuster" (Yes nurse, No nurse" but also "My Fair Lady" and "The Sound of Music".

If you ask me this is the best anthem a country can have.


Did you notice too that hard rock bands have the best love songs? I wonder with which song I can end this chat with you. It's hard to tell if there's one next to all those songs you already have that will brighten your path or lift you up during dark nights.
Don't get lost in the jungle and enjoy your time at home.

Blessings to you

Tanita Tikaram, I always loved this song. A perfect one for a better life.


The meaning of the text is explained here

PhotoGrid_1613071815865.png


26-4-2024

Prompt: Breakfast with...
I am a mobile phone user only

2
$ 0.00
Avatar for wakeupkitty
1 week ago

Comments