Bread beer

0 42
Avatar for wakeupkitty
1 year ago
Topics: Writing, Freewrite, Life, Thoughts, Beer, ...

Some weeks ago I intended to make bread beer. One of these bread beers turns out to be Kvass.

Till today it didn't come that far (too busy gardening and hanging around) but for a few weeks, I do buy bags of old bread. The bread is sold by a pet shop, dry and is leftover from a bakery. It's cheap but good enough to use (animals and us included). I have no idea if each bag contains the same weight (most likely not) but the one I put on the scales was 5.5 kilograms.

I kind of forgot about making bread beer so searched the internet for 'how to' and 'recipe..' and received the strangest answers from making a cheese bread (I saved that one) to make your soap (mainly oil, oil and oil).

After searching and watching all the videos I bummed into the right one. Emmy knows how to do it and now I know too plus how to make a darker version if wanted.

Kvass is a fermented food which is good for your health!

That was the first thought popping up as I read the title of her video.

I love sauerkraut and kefir (fermented food as well) and forgot about the Kombucha (Emmy has more fermented food videos so have a look).

I might give this a try since I have what is needed except for the jar. Perhaps I can try a plastic bottle?

There isn't much alcohol in Kvass so children can drink it too plus I assume it's allowed to drive a car after drinking a glass (no one says you can't after drinking Kombucha, Kefir or eating rum beans or those alcoholic cherry chocolates 'Mon Cherie').

What does sound good to me is the bread can be reused which means not much bread needs to be invested (bread will be rare soon I guess?).

If I brew something I hop by again and share my result and opinion with you.

Btw I never use a thermometer (not if I make yoghurt or kefir either) since I doubt they did it so precisely in the middle ages.

#kittywu #howto #beer #kvass #health #no-waste #freewrite

5
$ 1.55
$ 1.53 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @Gaftekloriginal
Avatar for wakeupkitty
1 year ago
Topics: Writing, Freewrite, Life, Thoughts, Beer, ...

Comments