A Pair of Losers - fable

0 37

Pair of losers.jpg

For those who expect nothing from life,

it is always a shining, bright day.

Matilda the little hen happily stepped out of her nest

It promised to be a beautiful day

After she had groomed her feathers

She went outside

After all, it was time for breakfast

The morning sun wasn't yet very warm

But that didn't bother her

Considering the necessary morning exercise.

Isn't it a beautiful morning, she cackled to the horse

That was quietly eating from a bale of hay

The noble animal only snorted

Since it's rude to talk with one's mouth full.

Little Hen walked on happily

And occasionally plucked a blade or picked a grain from the soil.

Her plumage sparkled in the sunlight

Something the peacock called 'quite flashy'.

Wherever Matilda went

She greeted each animal without any exception

She didn't care how small or large the comrade within her sight was.

She spotted a frog along the road

Good morning dear man

Do you wait for someone to help you cross the road?

I am happy to serve you.

The offended bullfrog puffed himself up and blasted,

"Get lost, mind your own business!"

The pigeons in the treetop looked down on the little hen.

There's that crazy bird again, cooed the dove of peace

That landed on the ground before Matilda's feet.

Good morning dear friend,

What did I do to deserve the honour

Of you visiting me on this beautiful morning

Do you also enjoy an early morning walk?

If you are tired from the long journey,

I would be happy to carry you for a while

Are you heading into that direction too?

Matilda walked on, her heart filled with joy

She wasn't used to getting an answer.

She didn't care

After all, not everyone was a talker.

As long as the sun shone and she had a nest

she was happy and considered herself the best

And the most lucky animal of all.

She picked around a bit, congratulating herself on the great life she was living.

Slowly she continued her way, enjoying every step, there was no need to hurry.

The path stretched out like a silver ribbon

Abruptly she stopped

What was that obstacle in the middle of the road?

She wandered around it indecisively

pushed gently with one toe

Was it alive or dead

Did she hear a sob?

Hello, here I am, the little hen tackled happily,

I hope I didn't scare you

While I was taking my morning walk

And also having breakfast.

She paused...

Automatically picking and plucking in the earth

Around the animal she had never seen before.

Aren't you hungry?

I'm lost, I lost the way, it sobbed.

How is that possible, you are in the middle of it

Wait, let me help I show you

There's no reason to be sad

After all, all roads lead to Rome... and the pond.

Wow, you are beautiful, she sighed

When the curled-up ball stretched out

I've never seen anything so perfect

Your dress shimmers in the light.

You must be the sun on earth.

Enraptured she looked at the being that had risen

And... in whose direct shadow she did stand.

The soft sobs had died down

While it looked in amazement at the little hen

It expected it could swallow it in one single bite.

Don't I scare you?

Why would you?

You are so beautiful, a gift from God,

Did you get hurt, who did that?

She stared in shock at the wound from which flowed blood.

You must be in pain.

It's okay.

It will heal, said the creature who was already feeling much better

Knowing he wasn't alone

Being lost was no longer an issue

Back home were only a pair of losers waiting for him.

I'd love to go with you, at least if you allow me to...

I knew it, said the little hen,

While the pearls on her plumage glittered in the sun,

It is a beautiful day

And all I had to do to achieve that

Is to get out of my bed with the right leg!

Photo: pixabay.com

Photogrid by Canva

Prompt: a pair of losers

20-2-2024

I am a mobile phone user only

PhotoGrid_1613071815865.png

#freewrite #story #kittywu #forthechildren

2
$ 0.14
$ 0.14 from @TheRandomRewarder

Comments