Regrets in life - and how math can prevent them

4 32
Avatar for valo
Written by
2 years ago

I don't like regretting past events. But I don't like dreaming about things that aren't certain, either. A dream, or more precisely, an assumption that something will come true makes you imagine many steps in the future.

But so why do I mention math in the title? Well, dreaming is an attempt for predicting future. And this is not any different from extrapolation. Read below to see how simple it actually is.

Dreams are what pushes us forward in life. They give life a direction. (Picture: Unsplash)

An imaginary situation

Let's say I'm looking for a new house. I make a list of what are absolutely necessary requirements, then those that would be nice to have but can go without. I look through many offers, still haven't found the right one but I let my mind wander. I imagine how I put my art tools and materials in the the second bedroom on the upper floor. I can sit there by the window, enjoy some morning sunlight and relax with my hobby. Oh, and the flowers in the yard will be in particular arrangement. And I really want mushrooms in my yard! It'd be so fun to go out every morning and evening and take a photo of them to watch how they grow.

Then... reality strikes. I haven't found a good house yet. Well, actually, buying a house might be a bad idea right now. I guess I should stop searching. Too bad because the gear for my hobbies barely fits the shelves any more. The nice future that I thought was imminently on the way didn't come true. And it won't. Well, that's disappointing.

When we lose faith in our dreams, life becomes meaningless. It feels like life is just dragging us somewhere but we have no power to affect the direction. Is there even a direction at all? (Picture: Unsplash)

So what does math have to do with that?

In mathematics, when on has some set of data, one could apply methods for approximating a model (called regression). A good model is able to predict values in between the existing ones. But what happens if we try to extend it further and predict how a curve would look like if we just had a few more data points? Sure, let's try. It works. How about a bit further away from our data? Kind of works. Let's go for a bit more... oops... the predicted value is totally wrong.

Example

I have a set of data plotted as blue points. I use regression to find a curve that fits the points. This is a trendline, plotted as a red dashed line. Regression produces a mathematical model that allows us to approximate any value even if we haven't measured it. Great! Wait... there's a limitation. We can only trust it for the data we fitted. We cannot be sure if this hold if I were to ask for a value outside of the interval.

I have a set of data plotted as blue points. Think of it as some experimental measurement. Then I make a polynomial fit to approximate the data points. It is shown in red. (Picture source: own graphic)

Alright, so what if we explore the region right around the borders? That should be okay? It is. Here I have plotted more data points. The ones in blue were simply taken out of this whole set of points.

The full set of data is shown in orange. The blue dots are part of the orange set. The fit was not performed on the orange points. (Picture source: own graphic)

So, I made a mathematical fit only according to the blue subset of data. Fine. I could use my model and extend a bit the trendline. I still get a pretty good match. But what if I wanted to extend the trendline on the left side, i.e., the small values on the horizontal axis?

Extending the trendline (red) leads away from the data points that were not part of the set of points I fitted. (Picture source: own graphic)

Oops... my model is completely wrong.

So, if I go back to my issues with regret. I was assuming that I will buy the house because at a certain moment of time it looked possible. But there's a difference between possible and certain. In fact, buying the house is like those data points that without further knowledge I couldn't predict accurately.

Remember this next time you hear somebody say that they don't need math after high school.

3
$ 2.29
$ 2.29 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of valo
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for valo
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

After reading your article I'm situating myself somewhere 50% you are wright and 50% wrong, hope you will understand way in a minute. First dreaming about something is the engine that keeps us going in this life and at the same keeps our mind working. For example what this world would be if a person never imagined to have something to get him from point A to B fast and with no effort from his side, or dream about flying. Second dream about things that at moment in your life you will be capable or granting. I'll take your example with buying a dream house : is not better to dream of building that house yourself instead buying it? And third at the moment, worldwide, the best investment you can do is in properties like land and houses. Don't invest in cars and Crypto world. In the end I wanna say that you did a very good job with the math explanation. People have to understand that behind everything they do is math and probability. We have to take risks daily if we want to evolve. I wish you to continue what you are doing because you are doing it very good, and hope my comment will not upset you! Have a lovely and wonderful day! Love from Romania!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You made a good point. Indeed, one shouldn't focus too much on fears but needs to balance. Otherwise mankind would still be living somewhere in caves and only daring to go out to search for food. I'm glad to hear that you liked the math. Greetings to Romania!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I never thought that math and mentality could collaborate. 😮Nice article!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you! Math is beautiful. It goes beyond some mundane counting. Well, fewer and fewer people use cash with payments being either online or by card, so I don't even remember the last time I had to count how much to give to the cashier in the shop. I've previously had associations between more like... global issues and math. I hope I manage to remember them and write about them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago