Photo post-processing

4 21
Avatar for valo
Written by
2 years ago

What's your opinion about post-processing of photos? Some say that they never process their photos and that they come straight out of the camera. Others turn their photos into fine artworks. I am kind of in the middle. I'm not skilled enough to produce a masterpiece by blending countless layers and drawings and what not in Photoshop but I'm pretty okay with making my photos "look mine", if you get what I mean.

An example:

I took this photo when I was still very new to photography. I was very happy with it back then.
I processed the same photo some 10 years after it was taken.

Did I cheat by boosting the contrast, bringing down the shadows and making the highlights brighter?

My personal choice is the processed picture. It brings the beautiful veins of the leaf, so I don't feel guilty about pushing it. I'm pleased with it. The original one is okay. I'm happy with the captured detail but I have underexposed it. Better lighting would've helped but alas, I was still pretty inexperienced.

2
$ 1.49
$ 1.49 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of valo
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for valo
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

I like to peocess photos sometimes but I am not professional when it comes to taking photos. I like to make them to look pleasant to my eye. Original photos are often very good so I don't have to change anything.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sure, it depends on what one wants to achieve. I joined noise.cash, too, and most of my posts are just slightly processed photos. I added a few that were more artistic but generally, my free time is quite limited and I can't manage to do that, too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Art is in fact the science of aesthetics, any tool that helps us to create beautiful works or make our works more beautiful, I think the tools are right and their use is very good. You raised a very interesting topic, dear friend. 👌

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I completely agree. In fact, many people don't realise that the picture they see on the screen of their phone or camera is already post-processed by the device. The bare signal recorded by the sensor is just a black and white mess. I feel like writing a continuation to this article. Stay tuned!

$ 0.00
2 years ago