How Art Can Help You Discover Your True Self

0 12
Avatar for valo
Written by
1 year ago

Everybody has an artistic side

You do not need special tools or knowledge to understand yourself better. (Photo by Maurício Mascaro from Pexels)

Art in its many forms is an excellent way of letting go of stress. I find that listening to music, painting, handcrafting or doing some other form of artistic expression helps me relax and lets go of the anxiety and internal struggles that I may be feeling — at least for a short while. Art is a great way for me to let go of that negative energy. It’s like a form of meditation for me — I can lose myself in the creative process and forget about all my troubles. Plus, it’s really satisfying to create something beautiful or meaningful from scratch. Every time I finish a project, it feels like I’ve accomplished a goal.

You do not need to be Picasso or Da Vinci in order to enjoy art. (Photo by Daian Gan from Pexels.)

Self-expression and self-discovery

Art is also a form of self-expression and self-discovery. It allows you to explore your own creativity and push it to its limits, meanwhile finding out new things about yourself. It can also be a way to communicate what you’re feeling or thinking, which can be helpful in understanding yourself better. I also go through situations that bother me, I process issues and ponder over some pain points that might be keeping my mind busy. Handcrafting is, in fact, the best for me in that regard. My hands are busy and my mind is thinking.

There are countless forms of art that one can have fun with. (Photo by Karolina Grabowska from Pexels)

You are unique

Art can help you understand who you are and what makes you unique. It is a form of self-expression because it allows you to communicate your thoughts, feelings and ideas through creative means. Verbal expression is not my strongest trait. It stems from being neurodivergent. I struggle to define and formulate my feelings. There is actually a term for that, it is called alexithymia. Many autistic people exhibit it. Visual art allows you to express yourself in ways that words cannot. It might sound ironic that I am doing blogging, though written expression is a skill that I learned through lots of practice. I used to hate it but over time I got to like it and nowadays I do it for fun. Being autistic means that I analyse my word choice carefully, though, sometimes I am concerned that my texts might be a bit heavy.

How would you rate the clarity of my articles? Do they feel hard to read?

“Digital art” — an artwork that I generated using the Wombo Dream app.

This article is reposted also on my other blogging and social profiles.

https://linktr.ee/neurodivergent_ai

You can find me on

| Medium | Simily | Vocal Media | read.cash | Publish0x | Steemit | Hive
| Instagram |

Check out more of my artworks in my community on Ko-Fi.

https://ko-fi.com/neurodivergent_ai

2
$ 0.41
$ 0.41 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of valo
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for valo
Written by
1 year ago

Comments