Fear of data loss

13 31
Avatar for valo
Written by
2 years ago

In his latest article @Infinity announced a new topic to write about - one's biggest fears. For many of us (including myself) there is nothing worse than losing our loved ones or them getting very sick. We also fear losing our money and home, and for a good reason. However, there are some other fears, too - though not as major. I have been writing about technology, so I will ponder on the topic from the perspective of digital data and devices.

Fears confine us and prevent growth. Picture by zydeaosika https://www.pexels.com/photo/anonymous-woman-covered-with-plastic-bag-in-dark-room-4138976/

I have been taking photos in the past 15 years, the vast majority of which have been on digital cameras. Not long ago I got interested in film photography, however, I don't rely on my negatives alone. I scan them and look at the resultant image. These photos are memories, and memories form who we are. Thankfully, so far I haven't suffered major data losses, however, I did lose some dear photos of a pet that passed away soon after I accidentally deleted photos that hadn't been backed up. I have a file server with redundancy - data gets spread to two hard disks. I don't do that manually but it happens at a hardware level, it's called a redundant array of inexpensive disks (RAID) array. This configuration ensures that if one hard disk fails, the other should contain my data. Yet, I don't feel confident enough and I also back up my important photos to Backblaze (not an advertisement). Yes, I pay about $20 a month for that, yet if something goes wrong, I would still have something left. I would still lose plenty but I can't afford to back up 10 TB.

A hard disk drive without its casing. Picture by Azamat Esenaliev, https://www.pexels.com/photo/black-internal-hdd-on-black-surface-117729/

This brings me to the topic of fears of loss and memories. Throughout our life we go through various events, we gather skills and experiences and they inevitably shape who we are. If I were to end up in an accident and lost my memory, how do I know who and what I am? I would need to re-learn how to interact with the world, whom I can trust, what mistakes I am supposed to avoid. I need to know how human society works, what is acceptably, what is expected of me. Not to mention that my life experience would be lost. Intelligence is important and gives a head start, it helps performing tasks faster, however, it does not replace experience. Hard work can take you far unless you are truly gifted, but those geniuses are so few that we can exclude them from this discussion. Intelligence is a tool that helps you dig deep but owning a digging machine doesn't mean you'll reach the centre of the Earth.

By looking at photos we bring back precious memories and refresh them. (Picture: Unsplash)

Photos bring back memories from past events and prevents forgetting important moments and details. Just by looking into some old photos I feel like I'm re-living the moment and experience the same feelings. Also, it strengthens the memory in my head and it can casually come back even if I don't actively try to recall it. I would be devastated if someone stole my computer, or my data is not recoverable or a natural disaster destroys my home. Yes, I am materialistic. But materialistic doesn't imply greedy and money-thirsty. It's a way of feeling safe. It gives something familiar to lean on. Doesn't it?

7
$ 4.96
$ 4.86 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Infinity
$ 0.03 from @Jelena
+ 2
Sponsors of valo
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for valo
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

That's really a massive fear for me Loss of memory, I can never imagine waking up and I don't remember anything

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That would be horrible. I wish I could say that hopefully nobody ever experiences it but sadly there will be accidents and people suffering.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice topic. My data is very important to me, I would feel very bad if I suddenly lost it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, it's interesting just how much it matters to us. This also brings raises some thoughts about materialism. Does it really count as being materialistic if you can't give up on your computer? To me my phone and my computer are like dear friends. I don't like randomly changing them even if money was not the limiting factor.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No, I don't think I am materialistic and I love my phone and computer very much and all data inside. That data is related to my most beautiful moments.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Photos store sweet memories. I lost a hard disk due to accidental power fluctuation in my office of a lousy company. It contained a good amount of personal and research data as well as photos. I know how much it hurts.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh, that's so sad. I hope that it never happens to you again with HDDs and cloud services getting more available.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Photos are very important to me too. I would be very unhappy if something happened to my data. I keep very nice memories on my computer.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Always, always think about backups. As some say, any data that are not backed up will eventually be lost.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I loved the RAID part, maybe because of my profession ahah. Thanks for participating

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh, thanks :) Nice to see other tech geeks around. I think we're a bit underrepresented or maybe I'm so used to having a fair number of friends and acquaintances at least somewhat interested in technology and science.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

How beautiful you wrote, dear friend, the life of all of us today is really tied to technology, and if my phone and laptop are stolen one day, I will lose everything. Fear of losing loved ones is the most cruel fear, and the grief that follows can be the greatest grief in a person's life...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you so much for the kind words!

$ 0.00
2 years ago