Addressing the writers' block: three tips

6 27
Avatar for valo
Written by
2 years ago

Every content creator has experienced moments when you realise that the clock is ticking, yet you haven't prepared today's publications (graphics, photo processing, posts, etc). What happens then is just pure panic. Oh no, what am I going to do now? I'm so lazy, I should have created this already long ago... quick, have to get it done...

Wait. Not that way. This kind of attitude is of no use. I have experienced this myself and, having realised that... ahem... it's closer to bedtime than to wake-up time, I want to write something here, too. However, I have many years of experience behind my back and I know that the only way to produce written content is to start writing. Anything. At least notes. Then inspiration comes. The only time this doesn't work is when one is truly exhausted and then the only reasonable option is to just accept that this will be a missed day and go straight to bed.

There are various styles and reasons for writing. Likely everybody hits a block along the way but it's not a disaster. (Picture: Unsplash)

Tip #1: Start writing just anything

It's obvious, if you want something to be written you have to start writing. It won't magically show up. Well, if someone knows a way to have high-quality text appear out of thin air, I'd be glad to hear. I'm rather lucky that somehow I rarely get truly stuck. If I don't know what to write, I start thinking and putting down literally whatever is on my mind at the given point. It doesn't need to be anything "publishable". Just literally a brain dump. Then, as they say, appetite comes with eating. I end up noticing a direction or at least a spark that I like. I shift my attention to it and start writing more. A few paragraphs later I can see what is worth sharing with the world, what could possibly become a separate article and what will be the main content of the one I'm about to submit.

Tip #2: No overthinking

Don't start by wondering what people will say about your writing unless it's your homework or a dissertation. Then maybe you want to ask someone for hints what to improve. For social media and blogs I would just share what's on my mind. Of course, if I'm writing an informative article, I tend to look up sources to make sure that I share up-to-date information. I hope that I'm impartial enough but we, humans, are biased. The very choice of article topics reveals what I'm curious about and what I'm interested in. One can tell a lot about the writer just on that alone.

Tip #3: Ask yourself why you're doing this

Yes, it's a bit of a cliche but it's so true. I often say that cliches are cliches for a reason. And really, why are you doing it? Are you writing for fun? Are you trying to earn money? To impress someone? Are you forced to do it, e.g., at work or at school? Likely it's a combination of those. And also, what's your attitude to writing as a process? Do you like organising your thoughts in a clear systematic way? I personally enjoy writing even though when I first started writing essays, I found them hard, dull and just something that the teacher imposed to torture their students. At some stage, I had written so much that it wasn't taking too much effort. Then I realised that I actually find it meaningful. I'm quite messy with my thinking and I struggle expressing myself clearly verbally. If I don't have paper, a tablet or a white board to write and draw on, you might not be able to follow my thoughts. But writing makes it easy to build a coherent story. By story I don't mean creative writing. That's something that I haven't really tried. A couple of times and very short results. I'm more technical.

What is your reason to write?

Do you find writing fun? What is the hardest part about it?

5
$ 3.28
$ 3.17 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jelena
$ 0.03 from @Musician
+ 2
Sponsors of valo
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for valo
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

I agree, I want to write what pops up in my mind. Honestly, I consider this platform as a personal space where I could express myself and share the happenings of my life. This platform is a space where you can free to write whatever topics you have. ❣ By the way, thank you for the tips @valo!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I admire anyone capable of telling what is happening in their life in an engaging way. I feel like my life is too mundane for anyone to get interested in. I'm glad to hear that you liked the tips!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good advices. I write when I want to relax and to relieve stress. I write in the evening usually and I have inspiration all the time. I start to write anything and then it just goes...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, exactly, you release the plug and water starts gushing out basically, that kind of feeling when it comes to writing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Writing is very interesting to me. The hardest thing for me is to come up with a title 😀

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I leave titles for the end. A title has to present the essence of the article. I often write down several options. When I like the idea, I modifying it to sound interesting. If I had titled this article just "I like writing", I bet fewer would open it because, well, why should anyone waste their time learning why I like writing. People like being informed. Time is limited and valuable. You don't buy random things in the shop but only what will serve some purpose for you. But at the same time, I get really annoyed by what I call "American style" titles. If i had put like: Three amazing tips to get you inspired quickly to write the most engaging articles and get hundreds of views.... ugh, no. Same idea, horrible formulation... :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago