On knowing thyself (and acting accordingly)!

0 24
Avatar for valentinestory
2 years ago

Quite a while back, I purchased a SUV. I persuaded myself that I wanted a major vehicle so I could continue more outings and that a major vehicle would prove to be useful when I needed to move house. I burned through twenty thousand to purchase a SUV (huge load of cash for me at that point), and just involved it in precisely the same manner as my past vehicle. I didn't continue more excursions, and I didn't move around a lot of stuff. I just spent more on gas and protection. That is on the grounds that I could do without to do those things at any rate. I just enjoyed those exercises.

One of the main thoughts of Western way of thinking is simply the idea of knowing. "To realize thyself is the start of intelligence," as Socrates broadly said. It's a word of wisdom. Yet, how would you really apply it in day to day existence?

By its vibes, a great many people don't matter "knowing thyself" to their choices. Interestingly, we frequently compel ourselves to do things we're unsatisfactory for. For instance, I've generally been a contemplative person. What's more, I for the most part could do without outsiders or being in enormous groups. It's simply not my thing. I could do without casual chitchat with dubious colleagues. Be that as it may, for a long time, I had a go at being more friendly. I showed up for parties, gatherings, get-togethers, shows, clubs, and so on. Also, wherever I went, I wound up investing energy with a modest bunch of individuals I knew in any case.

I think we as a whole know ourselves - how might we not? All things considered, you must act naturally. From the second you awaken until you hit the hay, you're in that general area with your contemplations and character. The issue is that the greater part of us miss the mark on certainty to live in concurrence with what our identity is. Doing that's difficult. Once in a while you want to drive yourself to act naturally.

Isn't that a misfortune? We know what our identity is, yet for reasons unknown dread, prevalent difficulty, instability we don't live in light of our self-information. That is the means by which we frequently end up in terrible circumstances. We take occupations that are not a fit with what our identity is. We start associations with individuals who we're not viable with. Etc.

Unemotional way of thinking stresses intentional activity. In Epictetus' Discourses, there's a part where he discusses how one ought to thoroughly consider things:

"In each activity that you embrace, think about what precedes and what trails behind, and really at that time continue to the actual activity. If not, you'll set about it with energy since you've never given any thought to the results that will follow, and afterward you'll surrender in a shameful design when some of them shows up"

How frequently have you started something with excitement, just to figure out later that it really wasn't so much for you? I've found out about how a many individuals raced to move out of urban communities during the primary year of Covid. Indeed, it sounds decent: moving from a metropolitan region to somewhere calmer. You'll get away from the traffic, irritating individuals, high expenses, grandiose house costs, etc. Be that as it may, assuming you love city life, you will not partake in suburbia of more modest towns in Arizona or Florida. That is the reason a many individuals lament their turn and have needed to move back.

See, we can never completely stay away from unfortunate circumstances. Furthermore, now and then you simply need to have a go at something before you know whether you like it or not. In any case, there's certainly a great deal of harmed, misery, and agony we can keep away from. We can likewise try not to burn through our time and cash. Whenever we're straightforward about what our identity is and the way of life we appreciate, we never again feel the strain to do specific things. We think before we act. What's more, it's truly not excessively hard. At whatever point you want to pursue a major choice, attempt to ask yourself: What are a definitive results I'm searching for? Does this line up with who I really am? What I'm great at? What I really appreciate? Will this assist me with arriving at my definitive objectives? As Epictetus expressed, ponder the results: Good and awful. In the event that that is in accordance with what your identity is, let it all out, in the event that it's not, don't. The very best.

2
$ 2.79
$ 2.79 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for valentinestory
2 years ago

Comments