Valuable experience climbing Mount Sindoro

0 38
Avatar for ugo23
Written by
1 year ago

Thursday, 29 September 2022

The purpose of a hobby is to fulfill a desire and get pleasure. I think a hobby is an activity that someone does to give a sense of pleasure or calm and is done when there is free time and has benefits, of course. There are many different types of pastimes, including singing, dancing, cooking, traveling, mountaineering, and more.

Everyone has a different passion. I personally have a hobby of cooking and climbing. Even though I have only hiked twice, I consider it a pastime because climbing makes me feel calm, joyful, and has many benefits for myself.

For the hobby of cooking, I often do it almost every day when I'm at home, whether it's when I'm dry or when I have to cook, usually I cook side dishes or snacks to taste delicious, the most important thing is that by cooking I can be creative because I can be creative with existing ingredients and change it become food.

My first experience climbing was to Mount Sindoro in September 2019, when I was in grade 12 high school. I hiked with 6 of my school friends, so in total we climbed with 7 children, 3 girls and 4 boys. My journey started at night from home and I arrived at basecamp early in the morning around 3 am. Our journey to the mountain started in the morning around 8 o'clock. The journey from basecamp to post 1 we used a mountain motorcycle taxi.

It was an amazing experience for us because we had to pass through a rocky road at the speed of an ojek, which was like a race for me, not to mention a small road with dry soil because we hiked in the summer. In hot weather, carrying heavy goods on our shoulders is not an easy thing. We must stop frequently, which is especially important for me because the first climb was rather strenuous.

We arrived at the post-sunrise camp at around 4 p.m. after traveling for quite some time, so we had to immediately set up camp because night would soon fall and cook because we were starving.

After we finished everything, we intended to relax. However, as we were doing just that, a group of wild boars wandered over to our tent. It was quite unsettling, but thankfully, other climbers quickly chased the pigs away, allowing us to continue relaxing because tomorrow we will reach the summit. We continued our ascent of the mountain around three in the morning, but because of the lack of experience in our party, we had only brought one sizable bottle of Aqua with us when half of our water supply ran out.

We had severe dehydration and exhaustion at that point, but fortunately we made up for it with a stunning view of Mount Sumbing's summit, the rising light, and the fact that we appeared to be above the clouds.

There was one person with us who was very patient and helped and accompanied me until I finally reached the top of Mount Sindoro. As we continued on our journey, however, my legs began to feel as though they couldn't move any further due to the lack of preparation, which made me want to go down and didn't want to continue the journey again.

Sponsors of ugo23
empty
empty
empty

7
$ 0.60
$ 0.49 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Alther
$ 0.05 from @TheGuy
+ 1
Avatar for ugo23
Written by
1 year ago

Comments