My Crochet Journey

1 21
Avatar for twiddly.crochet
2 years ago

Crochet started as a pandemic hobby.

I'm stuck in the house, bored, and mindlessly scrolling thru Instagram when one of my friends stories pop up. It's a very cute top made from yarns and I got curious. I remember it clearly to be a boho top. I even found the tutorial of it on YouTube.

(Boho Top Tutorial)

One Instagram story plus my curiosity sparked my love for crochet. I started my research about crochet. Then it took me weeks before I decided to search the materials on shopee. I ordered from two shops wherein I bought Monaco Mercerized yarn, my very first Imia hook size 6, some fiber fill, and stitch markers on the first shop. On the second shop, I bought 5 ply milk cotton yarns and a set of aluminum hooks. It took too long for it to he shipped out and be delivered. Unfortunately, the yarns and hooks that I bought on the second shop got lost in transit. Remembering this makes me so sad because I'm so excited for these to arrive. Good thing is that a few days later, my other orders arrived.

What I didn't expect is, my yarn is not very beginner friendly. It's so thin because this yarn is a thread. I had a hard time learning crochet and practicing because of it. There are a lot of times where I want to just give up learning this craft but the good thing is that I continue on.

I tried again, bought new supplies, practice more, and watch YouTube tutorials, until I get the hang of it. Now, I already tried different kind of yarns that is available here in the Philippines. I will write more about the different yarns in the Philippines in a different article. I also tried making different crochet items ranging from amigurumi, clothing, and accessories. I just love how crochet is very versatile that you can do almost everything. You just have to let you creativity shine!

After almost a year of crocheting, I finally made this hobby into a small business. It's hard to start. I spent days and more days thinking if I should start a business and sell my creations. I don't feel ready. I have a lot of doubts in myself and in my talent. I'm not sure if there will be people who will appreciate or buy my products. Fortunately, I got a lot of support from the people who are special to me. They gave me that courage to finally start and make this dream a reality. On July 2021, I finally made my business pages and posted my first products.

My best friends supported me and they are the only one who bought my products. It's a few months with no orders after that. Then maybe one order after a while. It's sad but I decided to just continue. I continue to make crochet products and post pictures on my page. Eventually, there are some people who inquire and some ordered. Since the Valentine's is near, crochet sunflowers, tulips, and roses became a trend. This is the biggest sales that I got. I'm so happy! I cut off early because I don't have much supplies and I need to make sure not to overwork my hands. Still, I'm so happy with all the orders that I got. I'm also happy to be part of their gift giving to their loved ones.

And that's my crochet journey. It's not yet the end of my journey as I still continue to learn and improve my craft. I will continue to share it with you and I hope that you will look forward in seeing some of my works.

With that note, I want to share some of my links if ever you're interested to check out my business pages!

Facebook

Shopee

Instagram

TikTok

~~~

I'll attach some photos of some of my sample orders below 👇

Thank you for reading!

4
$ 0.81
$ 0.80 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @Unity
Avatar for twiddly.crochet
2 years ago

Comments

Keep it up, lovely works you have💛

$ 0.00
2 years ago