END TIMES (A Novelette)

4 26
Avatar for twiddly.crochet
2 years ago

I wrote this story for our subject Contemporary World. It was my subject in Grade 12 Senior High School. I still remember how exciting to write stories back then. I enjoy as it was one of my hobbies. Although I'm not writing stories anymore, I still look forward to finding my passion in writing back. I'm focused on my studies and my crafts right now but maybe I'll write some stories again soon. Anyway, I'll be posting this story here. It's just a few chapters and I hope you will enjoy it. The writing isn't perfect but I hope you'll still understand it. Btw, this story is inspired to the Four Horsemen of the Apocalypse (Death, War, Famine, and Pestilence).

I'll be posting the Prologue and Chapter 1 in this article while I'll upload the next one maybe tomorrow. I hope you'll look forward to it. Thank you and Enjoy Reading!

PROLOGUE

The end times are near. The signs are emerging in every corner of the world. The angels show us as warnings for upcoming catastrophes. But we chose to ignore it, thinking that it was nothing, thinking that it is far from happening.

We chose to be ignorant and unprepared. But when it came knocking on our doors we don't know what to do.

We chose this. The consequences of generations of decisions are catching up to us. We did this to ourselves. There's no one to blame except us. What's happening in this world is our fault and it is up to us to save it. 

BEGINNING - ONE

I know that the end is near but I never thought that when I woke up that morning everything will change. It started 5 years ago. It comes in waves. First is the antichrist, then war, famine, and plague. I'm one of those who survived the first three waves but I don't know if I will consider myself lucky. Surviving means a lot and it destroys me. To survive means not playing by the rules that does not exist. There is chaos, lots of chaos. Everyone is in survival mode. You never know who to trust.

News of the apocalypse is in trend nowadays. Social media is full of memes and fake news about it. People don't really know how to take things seriously. I know it's really coming. The signs already surround us. But what can a scared and insignificant girl do? Nothing really. If it comes, at least I know some basics in surviving. But I don't know where those skills will lead me.

I got a few friends but they have their priorities when that time came. I don't have a family. I have no one to protect and no one to protect me. But in this kind of journey, I knew I need someone to watch my back. I need someone whom I can trust my life with. I managed to live almost half of my life alone but I don't know if I can handle this on my own. Apocalypse is really coming and I'm really scared with only the thought of it, what more if it's really happening.

Living alone taught me to not depend on other people. I only got a handful of friends who spent a lot of time to gain my trust.

Reading is my comfort zone. Whenever I'm lost, afraid, sad, or experiencing extreme emotions I always come to my books for comfort. I've read things about the rising war, terrorists who kill innocents, countries on the brink of famine, and an uprising in the government on different countries.

I've read an article that says, 'The world is facing a humanitarian crisis bigger than any in living memory,' the UN has said, as four countries teeter on the brink of famine.

"Twenty million people are at risk of starvation and facing water shortages in Somalia, Nigeria and Yemen, while parts of South Sudan are already officially suffering from famine." (The Independent)

Thinking about it, the future ahead of us, though unsure, is really scary. The things we do now will affect what's ahead. 

Being a graduating senior is exhausting. There are lots of requirements and clearances to fulfill. This day is one of the days when all you can think about is getting home, lying in bed, and sleeping. So I did. When I went home, I went straight to bed and fell asleep, oblivious of what might happen tomorrow.

I woke up irritated by the sound of my alarm. Even though I feel lazy, I stood up and welcome a new day of work and productivity. I walked out of the apartment but there was this gloomy feeling I can't figure out. I rode the public bus to school. The conductor turned the radio to an AM station where I heard a piece of very alarming news.

"Due to an uprising in the United Nations, allying countries turn on each other and declared war. Other countries were caught up in the middle with no other choice but to choose sides."

The conductor switched to a different channel and another one was reported.

"Many countries are on the brink and four countries are already suffering from famine. They are facing starvation because of a huge leap in global warming that destroyed most of the crops. Also, many countries are facing water shortages and contamination on other beverages."

The news is alarming that the conductor decided to stop the radio. He's trying to delay the inevitable. In a short span of time, everyone will know about the news and everyone will start panicking. 

TO BE CONTINUED...


3
$ 0.26
$ 0.20 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Lucifer01
$ 0.01 from @Misz_BotipolJen_07
Avatar for twiddly.crochet
2 years ago

Comments

Nice one dear. Keep it up. Hello, the Devil is here. Good to see you. Welcome to the family.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you and hello, Lucifer. Hope you enjoy this article and hoping to see you again on the next part ☺️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I've also experienced being exhausted when I was in my senior high school days, but still I am being inspired and motivated to continue my study in college life. I'm looking forward to the next part of this article, I'm glad to met you here by the way 👋☺️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Keep that inspiration and motivation because we really need it in college. Thank you for reading my article. Nice to meet you too 💗

$ 0.00
2 years ago