Chargeback fraud

1 17
Avatar for tuscan21
4 years ago

I got a phone call today from my banker, informing me that there was a chargeback request regarding a SEPA transfer I received a week ago, as a (first-time) seller of BCH on local.bitcoin.com. The banker gave me 2 options: either accept or reject the request and suggested I collect all the evidence I have to back my case. He said he is unsure about the outcome of the dispute.

I prepared a 6-page (!) document in which I state all the relevant information that supports that I am a victim of chargeback fraud on local.bitcoin.com. I included even a Bitcoin Cash and crypto 101 mini course as evidence, since most bankers are ignorant about cryptocurrencies. I will visit my bank tomorrow, sing the rejection of chargeback and hand them the 2 documents I created (one in English and another in my native language, Greek), with a favorable outcome (hopefully).

In addition, the buyer was (and continues to be) 100% satisfied from his purchase, since I completed the trade promptly and answered all his requests efficiently, releasing the escrow and completing the trade as soon as I received fiat money.

How are you dealing with chargeback fraud? Do you have any examples of successful cases for sellers? I don't think that any seller can be immune to this type of fraud, since even a 5-star buyer can apply for a chargeback at a massive scale if he intends to. I think this is a regulatory "anomaly" in which scammers are NOT punished and innocent people (sellers) are treated like criminals. It makes me mad.

2
$ 0.00

Comments

The greatest weapon in a merchant’s arsenal is the strategy they develop to identify all disputes by their fundamental source and address them accordingly. I prefer to use chargeback management software which I read a full guide on https://chargebackhit.com/blog/what-you-need-to-know-about-chargeback-management-software-in-2022/ This management system helps me to avoid the risks of friendly frauds

$ 0.00
1 year ago