Dream 003: Jesse Ventura's Carnival / Videogame Madness

0 19
Avatar for toxxicduck
3 years ago
Topics: Dream, Video Games

It’s night and I arrive at a small carnival with a dark haired woman who I only vaguely interact with. The landscape is a flat empty desert with cement crossroads that go around the carnival grounds. The entrance is a chain-link fence and gate but the rest of the carnival is open to the desert. There are wooden stalls and buildings that look run-down and don’t have floors so grass grows inside of them. I remember seeing a Ferris wheel and a couple other more colorful, lit-up structures, and strings of lights hanging above everywhere. Despite the slightly dismal appearance, the carnival is a happy and popular event with lots of people. I know that Jesse Ventura is the one who sets up the carnival every weekend and that the whole thing is free for everyone. Jesse Ventura uses it to make announcements and talk to the community. I don’t remember doing much but walking around and looking at the run-down buildings. I’m interested in the aesthetic of them and point them out to the woman with me, who doesn’t seem to have any thoughts or opinions on anything.

I go into a larger barn-looking building with her. Inside is dark and the same run-down wood and grass appearance as the other buildings. In the center there are two narrow but deep strips of water running through, looking like canals in a strange boat house. There are a few rowboats piled up on each other in the space between the canals. I end up on one side of this building and with the two canals in front of me it feels like I am on a safe little island. A young man appears in the barn, or the woman who was with me turns into him, and he talks to me pleasantly about something I don’t remember but probably involves boats.

Then the dream gets a bit jumbled and more like I am playing a videogame. The young man falls asleep on the ground and I decide to use a rowboat to leave. There are three boats in the canal closest to me now, each totally different from the other: a beat-up wooden one, a beat-up metal one with a motor, and a flashy ‘high-tech’ looking one with a motor that is painted military-green and shaped like a bullet. When I consider using one, it is as if I pressed the A button on a Nintendo Switch to interact with the spot and a message pops up. I am now looking down at the whole barn from above and the area has become a grid (I’ve been playing a lot of Fire Emblem: Three Houses recently). I have to choose one of the three boats and any of them might trigger some extra event. The more nice and high-tech the boat is, the more likely something will happen, and it could be good or bad. The wooden rowboat has the least likelihood of anything happening at all, while the slick military one is pretty much a guarantee. I decide to go with the middle ground and choose the metal boat with the motor, because I really don’t want to have to row a boat. I make my on-screen selection, pressing A button with my dream intentions, on the middle textbox that is meant for the metal rowboat.

The mystery event is instantly triggered. Huge scorpions appear. They are cat-sized and appear on the opposite side of the barn, across the two canals. I am a safe distance for the time being in my corner and even see the ‘danger area’ marker from Fire Emblem, which shows you where the enemy will be able to strike you if you enter it. From the slight birds-eye view, I can see ‘me’ as an avatar standing next to the young man who is still sleeping. My avatar looks like a feminine being of white and gold light, wearing a robe or a dress and also a long veil. The sleeping man looks peaceful, and even has a smile on his face, which in reality would look like he was fake-sleeping. It doesn’t occur to me to wake him up, but rather I decide to rescue him by putting him in the boat and taking him with me as I escape. Picking him up counts as a turn and the scorpions come closer (not sure how they are crossing the water). Moving over to the boat and placing the man inside takes another turn. When the scorpions come close enough to get me, the dream switches to real-time action and the scorpions surge toward me and I control the white avatar to avoid them by blindly running around in a zigzag. The visuals of my avatar running from scorpions is the same way I might when facing a scorpion in Animal Crossing. A couple of them turn into huge cartoonish dinosaurs that are just mouths full of sharp teeth. They look like the Pokemon Gible but more nimble and a pale blue color. I, as in my avatar, run away from the giant Gibles, only to be completely surrounded by them and the scorpions and then I wake up.

2
$ 0.00
Avatar for toxxicduck
3 years ago
Topics: Dream, Video Games

Comments