A Brave Girl (short story)

0 9
Avatar for tlhabshir_
2 years ago

12-year-old girl named Navpreet , could have never thought that her family’s traditional summer vacation to Hyderabad in 2019 would change her life forever.

That year, a terrible accident left her with 75 to 80 percent burns and an amputated arm. Navpreet was shattered , but not so much that she could give up on life. With her parents as her ultimate pillars of support, this fighter took the reins of her life in her own hands, literally.

Sixteen years and 45 surgeries later, Navpreet is perhaps one of the most brave and strongest persons you will ever meet. She now runs her family business, which deals with heavy machinery, and is happily married to her childhood sweetheart.

“I never thought that I’d meet with an accident and little did I know that it was going to change my life forever. But it happened anyway, and there was nothing anyone could do to undo it. But what I could do was fight back. There were two choices—either give up and drown myself in self-pity or make peace with the situation and face it with a smile. I started seeing everything as an opportunity rather than a hindrance. And that’s what made the difference! They say when life presents you with an opportunity; grab it with both the hands. I did the same, just with 1 and a half!”

1
$ 0.00
Avatar for tlhabshir_
2 years ago

Comments