British Slangs and Expressions

26 49
Avatar for tired_momma
3 years ago
Topics: Experience

During my first stay here in Northern Ireland, I've heard so many words and expressions I've never heard before. And even though I can speak and understand English (ish), when it's your first time listening to them speaking it's as if I'm listening to a different language.

Like I'm used to my husband's but every time I heard others, my brain was loading. And because I don't want to look or sound stupid it's always a nod, a yes or a no for me. πŸ˜‚

I think sometimes they just speak too fast or their accent is just new to my ear. Funny when I don't understand!

Though there are some of the words that I already knew like:

petrol - gas

nappy - diaper

pram - stroller

footpath - sidewalk

bobo - feeding bottle

pet - love/ word of endearment

chips - French fries

crisp - potato chips

They all so sweet will call you, love, pet, dear whoever you are. And that's very normal. They aren't flirting.

So let me share to you some British words or expressions that you might be interested to know.

British Pound = Quid

So here, their currency is British Pound Sterling or Pound but you will hear them calling it Quid.

1 Quid = 100 pence

Stones

So here in the UK, they don't tell their weight in kilograms. They say it in stones.

1 stone = 6.35 pkg

Honestly, I still only know mine in kilograms. πŸ˜…

Garbage = Rubbish

They don't call waste as garbage but they say "rubbish". Also, if you're talking nonsense they will tell you,

"You're talking rubbish!" (Loads of bollocks πŸ˜‚)

Tired = Knackered

They don't say, I'm tired. They say I'm knackered!

Cashier = Till

So they don't call it cashier like we normally call it in the Philippines, in here they call it "till".

When my husband told me the first time that we have to queue at the till I was like??? What till?!

Crazy = Nut/Nutter

They don't tell you you're crazy. They say, "You're a nut!" πŸ˜‚

Cheers Mate!

You know me always saying this. Well, British people say it all the time "Cheers" means thank you!

Cheers Mate!

See Ya Later! / Cheerio!

They don't mean they want to see you later but it simply means "bye!"

Blimey!

They don't say "Oh my goodness!" They say, Blimey!

Loo

You should know and maybe familiar with it. This is what they call "the toilet".

Spending a Penny

This is an expression you'll hear mostly from old people. It means going to the loo or toilet.

"I'm going to spend a penny."

I ask this to my husband coz I don't get it. And he told me because when you're out and want to use the loo you have to pay a penny. Just like in the Philippines or Thailand. It's always 5 pesos or 5 baht at least to use a public toilet. πŸ˜‚

Ish

There so many uses of this slang. It can be mean quite.

Like, I can cook. Ish.

I meet you at 10 ish. So it could be anytime from 10. Approximately. πŸ˜‚

Bloody

If they want to exaggerate words they say bloody with it.

Bloody good!

Bloody hungry!

Bloody happy!

And of all, "bastard" and "cunt" is a very bad word! πŸ˜‚

Please add more for I know there's loads of it!

Cheers!

10
$ 5.28
$ 4.85 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @RaemaKhan
$ 0.05 from @idiosyncratic
+ 4
Sponsors of tired_momma
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for tired_momma
3 years ago
Topics: Experience

Comments

Ohh so the brits really have unusual words and all. Some come off as amusing to me yet i know a few because i watch some english series

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Bloody hell, this was all amazing.ish. Cunt lang alam ko madam, nababasa ko yan kasi doon sa mga nag sasagupaan ba hahaha,

$ 0.00
3 years ago

So interesting to know those british slang words pet. Hoping for more in the future. Bloody good.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Whenever we go to a place, we feel unaware and slowly try to adapt to the language and things there, especially when the girls go to their in-laws after marriage. Things have to understand that in order to have a good life in the future, it is good to read your Nice words. Thanks for sharing your memories

$ 0.05
3 years ago

Thank you my dear. I'm still learning and adapting till now. There's always new things you learn everyday if you're in a foreign country. πŸ₯°

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I can hear Captain Hook every time I get to see or read a "bloody" expression. πŸ˜† He's a character in a series entitled "Once Upon A Time". The expression speaks for itself. It is very british. πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Then we should say this post is "bloody good" 😌😌 Thank you dear, you made us realize some tricky points ^^

$ 0.05
3 years ago

Thank you dear, you're bloody kind! 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Alam ko yung iba haha.. Pro d ko alam na british words pla mga yun

$ 0.05
3 years ago

Alin Jan madam?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I thought these are american terms petrol - gas nappy - diaper chips - French fries crisp - potato chips

Spending a penny/rubbish i know these terms are british

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yun iba pamilyar sa akin kakapanood ko ng english movies, mjo may pagkakatulad sila ng english slangs,,

$ 0.05
3 years ago

Puro Korean at Chinese kasi pinapanuod ko πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahaha,, same same pero sa chinese movies di masyado, pero may isa akong nagustuhan na cdrama, yun go go squid, cute yun love story nila.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Madam! Panuorin no Eternal Love! 🀩🀩🀩🀩 Ang ganda nyan!!!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahaha,, sge2, check ko sya later.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Icheck ko yang go go squid. Sana meron sa netflix.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

nasa netflix sya,, yun eternal love nasa netflix din ba?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oo bhe! πŸ₯°

$ 0.00
3 years ago

How much is my weight in the stones :) :) :) And yes, this "let's meet at 10" is very interesting! I believe that you still need time to get used to these expressions ... But you certainly enjoy it for sure!

$ 0.05
3 years ago

My dear, I'm not happy. Did anyone tell you that your comment becomes spam? I know you don't spam. There are many happenings recently like this. I will not see your comment if I don't click to open it. Did you message readcash?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, darling, I know my comments are spam ... And I'm so sorry about that! I sent an email to the read.casha team, but I haven't received a response yet. I hope that the problem will be solved ...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ganyan din sa anak ko, dunno why. Pro nag message na sya sa read.cash

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nagresponse ba? Did they sort it out?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Di pa nagresponse, kahapon lang sya nag email, sana maayos na kasi tinatamad na magsulat yun anak ko.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Better in twitter.

$ 0.00
3 years ago