Developing over time: we have a lot to learn from birds

0 29
Avatar for thor0
Written by
2 years ago

Some days ago I discovered that a bird had been frequent at the hollow of the pawpaw tree in our compound. The hollow was created as a result of the incident whereby the tree was cut when it grew too tall. Well, that is not the story for today. At first, when I saw it and try to chase it away, it was reluctant but later on gave in. And then, I peeped in and saw the eggs. For the next couple of days, it become a ritual for me to go and check on the eggs. I wanted to take pictures of them daily but somehow I was not consistent. But somehow, I understood the series of lessons the universe was trying to teach me through that.

Follow me!

In life, for topics ranging from health to finance, there are different stages of growth and the forms that come with it. Even, as they say, there is time for everything. But at times, there are yardsticks that measure the time when to move to the next stage. But these yardsticks do not just show up from nowhere, you might just know or perhaps feel them subconsciously.

Looking at those birds' story. The mother lays the eggs and incubates them till they hatch, I guess that is why they are called hatching at that point in time. This can be referred to as the period of incubation whereby you cared for in utmost love and splendor. Here, you could be said to be under training and no one really expects you to bring something tangible to the table yet. Why? Because you are still being under training.

After a while, the eggs are hatched and the little hairless birds, for that matter, break forth. It was during this time I noticed them in the hollow of the tree. After a while, I could not see the mother there again and I rechecked in subsequent days and still the same. I was kind of crossed that the mother abandoned her little one. But, come to think of it, I believe the mother knew that it was high time she left and allowed her hatching to find their way themselves - she had trained (nurtured) them enough. They (You) cannot be fed forever! So this means, at some points in our respective lives, we would be expected to do something without being told. And, if we do not do them, then it is tantamount that one has not grown.

The birds, after their mother had left, still stood in the tree for some days until a day when I had overcome the procastination to take snapshots of them, I saw that they had gone. You could see the scanty nest synonymous to a bee hive. Quite synonymous indeed!

Although, I had seen in the previous days, that they had begun to grow thick and true feathers and their eyes opened - I guess they'd seen me. What is worthy of note here is that even after we had been left to make our own decisions, we have to take a little step back and re-evaluate where we are actually before going forth later on in life. The period of re-evaluation is the time we are using to grow the needed feathers - perhaps the little starting strength we need. Because we may not have all the time in the world to prepare, we just have to get started!

Source

Another thing which I'd take on personally is that one should make use of opportunities while it lasts. Had I not procrastinated in taking those little birds' pictures daily as I wanted to, I'd have had tons of pictures. Now, I have learned to make use of the slightest opportunities everytime I see one - it is another thing to be able to recognize one, although thats a story for another day.😁

Thanks for reading!!

1
$ 0.11
$ 0.11 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for thor0
Written by
2 years ago

Comments