Is cryptocurrency the path to financial freedom?

1 13
Avatar for theselfsufficientphd
2 years ago

It might be. I started my crypto journey early in 2021 when I became serious about financial freedom. If you're anything like me, you hate the idea of having to work for someone else for the majority of your life. Life is short and time is extremely valuable. We don't get any of it back and I personally want to spend my time doing the things that I love instead of renting it out to someone else. Because of this, I have begun exploring cryptocurrency as a path to financial freedom. 

I doubt I have to tell you about how well off you would be if you bought and held bitcoin when it first launched in 2009. As an old proverb goes, “The best time to plant a tree was 20 years ago. The second best time is now.” I think the point of the proverb is to say that there's no use in looking back at what could have happened, we can only do the best with what we have now. Thankfully, 2009 was only 11 years ago so by the standard of this proverb you are 9 years ahead if you start investing into valuable projects now.

For a long time I was hesitant to own any cryptocurrency. I thought it was just a fad and would soon crash. But now, only a little more than a decade later, it is worth noting that the total market capitalization of cryptocurrencies exceeds $2 trillion. There are fewer than 10 countries that have a GDP that exceeds this $2 trillion mark. I don't think cryptocurrency is going away any time soon.

But to me, perhaps the most compelling aspect of cryptocurrency is the decentralized financial structures that it enables. I have only recently been exposed to the world of DeFi and have been attracted to the idea of moving away from traditional financial institutions like centralized banks and moving towards decentralized solutions. It is a wonder that so many people (including myself) have passively accepted the idea that traditional banks can make profit by using the money that the customer deposits. If the money belongs to me, I should be able to be the beneficiary and collect interest on it. The world of decentralized finance provides us with a way to do this.

And so it may be that what started as a journey to financial freedom in one sense has taken on new meaning. Initially I wanted financial freedom in the sense that I could work at my own pace towards the goals that I believed in. However, I have come to appreciate that financial freedom also means the freedom to actually own the money that I have earned and to do what I want with it. And the good news is that this freedom is available to all.

 

3
$ 0.02
$ 0.02 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for theselfsufficientphd
2 years ago

Comments

“The best time to plant a tree was 20 years ago. The second best time is now.” It is so true! Thank you for sharing your thoughts :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago