I'm no longer happy, what should I do?

3 28
Avatar for thepandagirl
2 years ago

I chose to write about it because I've been stressed up lately due to work problems. I haven't written about my feelings in a long time, and I can't think of anyone with whom to express my feelings.

It's been almost two years since I got this job, and I've enjoyed the first few months here. I was motivated, and every day was a challenge, but I felt like I was exploring, and I was learning and growing as a result of those experiences. I became a top performer, and I could tell that my superiors, particularly my direct supervisor, were quite proud of me. Our group is unrivaled. We could beat other teams and receive a lot of incentives at the end of the week and each month, which I must say has inspired myself and the rest of the team to do well. We all work together in harmony and treat each other as if we were a big family rather than coworkers. My direct supervisor is very considerate.

Our request would be easily granted as long as we accomplish a good job. For example, there was a time when I requested that my two weeks of days off be continuous, so I got four days off in a row since I needed to run some important errands. I was apprehensive at first to ask, but I did so anyway, and he agreed, much to my relief. He's the best boss we've ever had!

Our team also has support that is as good as our immediate supervisor. So far, my first twelve months have been fantastic. I was happy no matter how often my schedule was modified and my body clock had to adjust due of the setting we had at work.

However, our team has advanced to the point that we are becoming unbeatable. It appeared that some people were envious of us. Instead of doing their jobs properly so that they might match our successes, they would gossip and spread false information about a few of us. It had an impact on a few of us on the team. Some employees began to disappear without taking official leave or even telling our supervisor or support staff. Few have resigned, and some are constantly late for work. It had an impact on team performance, thus management decided to restructure the teams. The majority of us were assigned to different supervisors, and I was unfortunately assigned to someone with whom I was unfamiliar. But that's fine with me; I understand that things don't stay the same forever, and that change is inevitable.

And the good thing is that I could still see my friends now and then, but our schedules are already different, and we're assigned to various stations and areas, so we don't see each other very often. I'm not sure how to approach my new teammates, so I normally spend my lunch and break times alone. My new manager isn't very friendly, and he's only interested in the numbers, therefore he'll frequently chastise the entire team for the fault of a particular team member. Although we have good support, most of my teammates are not very driven to work. I was under a lot of pressure because I felt that my immediate supervisor had great expectations of me.

He assumes I will never make a mistake, and even worse, he believes I no longer require assistance. As a result, he altered my schedule to set it out from the others. I was given the responsibility of arriving at work three to four hours earlier than they did. As a result, it was quite difficult for me because some of the supports would usually prioritize assisting those on their team first.

I told my manager if he could change my schedule to something a little later. I'd accept it if it was an hour earlier and something I could manage. It was, however, not even considered. I just accepted it and put up with it because I know how important this job is to me. And my goal is to work my way up the ladder and, perhaps, earn a promotion after a year. I persevered, and months have passed. Every day, I could only sleep for 3-4 hours. It's fine if I spend the most of the day at work.I endured eating only foods that I can buy at the cafeteria since I can barely go home.

I requested a month ago that my supervisor allow me to take at least three consecutive days off between the first and second weeks of the month since my cousin is getting married, and I need to travel to my hometown to attend. He agreed and said that all he had to do was change my schedule because it had already been planned in the system. But you know what happened? Instead, I was marked absent, and he asked me to sign some paperwork coming from the Human Resources department ย the next day to explain why I was away.

I was okay every time he asks me to stay longer and render overtime. Unlike the rest of the team, I work over 13 hours each day without complaining once. I never caused any problems for the team. This is already overwhelming and out of control. Should I just quit and start looking for a new job? Should I endure a bit longer? I'm not sure; I'll have to think about it some more.

Hello. I was too busy making ends meet that I forgot about writing. Here I am, writing herw after 5 months.

2
$ 3.06
$ 3.06 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for thepandagirl
2 years ago

Comments

As you started with this job you didn't know anyone either. If you worked for over a year in a super successful team I would -as a supervisor- expect to that you can do without assistance.

I think what bothers you most is those free days of. There's no schedule, agenda where it's noted? Your only options are to ask for the agreement of your absence black on white.

If this job isn't what you expected or the people give you a hard time say it. Say what's on your mind. Be honest. Other options: find another job before you leave or leave now and live with the financial consequences.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thank you for your comment. For the sake of my mental health, I decided to leave the company. I am now rendering my last 30 daya in the company. I just submitted my resignation letter 3 days ago and I feel excited about finally leaving. Though like tou said, I have to bear with the financial consequences, I'm hoping that I could find a new job soon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A wise decision. If it comes to the own health no job pays good enough to feel miserable. ๐Ÿ€๐Ÿ’–

$ 0.00
2 years ago