#MyReadCashHistory: Barbacena Psychiatric Hospital#1

0 10
Avatar for themastergamer
2 years ago

😎 HELLO READCASHEROS. 😎

I am a doctor specialized in mental disorders at the Psychiatric Hospital of Barbacena, Brazil. Perhaps you have not heard much about this asylum, for this, let me tell you a little about this unfortunate place. My name is Antonio Fernando VĂĄzquez, doctor of psychiatry. He used to work at the Sanatorio Hispanoamericano de Madrid España (better known as “El Hispano”), but the Franco dictatorship made me emigrate from my country of origin.

The Spanish civil war has taken me to the State of Minas Gerias in the Amazonian country. An exiled friend gave me shelter, and his valuable help would secure a position for me in the city's psychiatric hospital.

My adaptation in the South American country was quick, learning the language was not complicated, their Portuguese is far from what we know in Europe and is closer to the Spanish we speak. My first day of work was near, I admit that the night before it was difficult for me to sleep, I missed going back to work.

The morning before leaving for the hospital, I shared breakfast with my friend (whom I will only mention as "Angel"), I noticed him absent, his gaze was lost between the corners of the dining room while he occupied his fingers in a pair of Chinese therapeutic spheres.

-Angel? Are you okay?" She turned her gaze violently towards me, I had interrupted him from a deep thought. Her voice sounded embarrassed.

-Fernando, I know you're excited about this day, but I haven't been completely honest with you. Barbacena is not like the other hospitals you know, you know? I have never been there but they say that life there is complicated, and not only for the patients, but also for the staff.

-Don't worry about that, I think you exaggerate it, life in a mental hospital is hard, but I've been in this for more than seven years, remember?

-You don't understand, people say terrible things, they talk about...

-Angel Enough! People always exaggerate.- I realized that I was reprimanding him rudely, I wanted to soften things by lowering the tone of my voice -You know? I am very grateful to you for receiving me and recommending me for the position. What do you say is the name of the Doctor who is waiting for me?

Doctor Brener BahĂ­a was the owner of the Barbacena, when I arrived I was received by one of the guards who hung around the entrance to the hospital.

At the time the employee removed the locks that gave access to the interior, I could see the depressing facade of the place, the high walls and funereal architecture of the place made my skin freeze.

The guard was leading me down a paved path over the grass in the yard. I appreciated many patients who were wandering around. All of them were away from my position.

After entering the facilities, we were able to reach the Bahia office which was located on the second level. The guard said goodbye to me informing me that until that point he could accompany me, from now on he was on my own.

I knocked on the door a couple of times, while I was waiting for someone to open it, I looked at the plate with the name of my new boss – Dr. B. Bahía – a hoarse voice sounded from inside, the interlocutor politely invited me to come in.

When I opened it I smelled a strong smell of tobacco and at the back of the room I saw a man in his fifties sitting behind his desk, he wore thick-rimmed glasses with high prescriptions, his wide forehead announced a prominent baldness, his thinning hair gray looked like dirty fluff; he greeted me with an obnoxious smile that showed a yellowed row of teeth.

As if he had known me for many years, he invited me to take a seat; behind him I noticed many titles and awards hanging on the wall, some of them highlighting him as a doctor specializing in mental problems. On his desk there was an ashtray with three extinguished cigarette filters, and a couple of files, I noticed that one was mine. I assume it was my resume.

-Welcome Doctor Våzquez, Mr. Ángel has told me a lot about you, it's a pleasure to finally meet you. How has our city treated you?

-I haven't had much time to explore it, but my impression is that it is a welcoming city.

-Well, we are a small city, but I recommend you visit the Municipal Museum of Barbacena, you will like it and you will know a little more about us and this picturesque place.

-I'll take it into account Doctor.

-Well, let's get to the point, I think you should be interested in the activities to be carried out. I have read your file and I am pleased. Graduated from the Autonomous University of Madrid, he has worked at the José Germain Psychiatric Institute of Mental Health Services, as well as at the Hispano-American sanatorium in Madrid, and a postgraduate degree at the European University of Madrid. Surprising.

"Thank you." She smiled shyly at him.

-Doctor VĂĄzquez, I don't know if it has been explained to you, but based on your experience we require support in the treatment of hospital patients, nothing that you don't know how to handle. -I agreed to the requirements of my new boss -One more thing, look, I don't know how they work in Europe, but I would strongly ask you to adapt to our way of working.

Those words from Bahia left me with a halo of doubt, I still couldn't fully understand what he was referring to.

-But hey, I won't take up your time anymore, Doctor VĂĄzquez, you must be anxious to start, get to know the facilities and your new office. At the end of the corridor you will find the area where the nurse HĂ©lio is. Tell him you're coming from me, he'll take you to his office.

I went to where HĂ©lio, a tall and strong man, the seriousness of his face highlighted his hard features. We didn't exchange many words, he just seemed to want to comply with the order to take me to my new place of work.

part 1#

coming soon part 2#

Sponsors of themastergamer
empty
empty
empty

0
$ 1.13
$ 1.13 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for themastergamer
2 years ago

Comments