Rain, Rain, Go Away!

0 22
Avatar for theinkwell
1 year ago
Topics: Cryptocurrency, Life, Blog, Story, Writing, ...

We are in the month of July and July is the month with the highest amount of rainfall in Nigeria. It's been raining a lot since the 1st of the month but the last four days have been a cat and dog affair.

Rainy season has a lot of benefits. It is a source of water to some areas where water is a big challenge. Rainy season makes the farmers happy because it provides the soil with enough water needed for the crops to grow and yield a better harvest. Rainy season is also the favourite season for a lot of people because they get to sleep better at night with little or no heat.

I love the rainy season because cold weather can be managed unlike heat. My biggest challenge with the season however is when it rains non-stop. Too much rain disrupts a lot of activities for me. I live in Lagos and one thing Lagos is known for is traffic. On a rainy day, the traffic is worse because the roads are flooded and every driver moves slowly and carefully to avoid entering a ditch or having their car carried away by flood. This makes going out very difficult for me. Also, during rainy seasons, because of the long traffic, there is a surge in transportation fare by 100% which is inhumane.

My area does not have a good drainage system. Once it rains, everywhere is flooded and that's the best time for rubber soles or rubber slippers because whether you like it or not, so long you do not have a car, you only have two options, swim or stay back in your house.

Since the beginning of this month, I have not been able to go to the market because each time I desire to go, it rains and when it rains, there are no buses available to take one out of the estate. I ran out of food items at home last week. I had to step out to go to the market and fortunately, I got a bus but before we got to the estate gate, the bus broke down in the flood. We had to come down and swim in the flood under the heavy downpour. I couldn't continue as I turned and went back home.

It's been four days and I'm yet to go to the market. I have been living on bread and tea and biscuits and coke. I yearn for some hot swallow and fresh soup but the rain isn't looking like it would grant my wish anytime soon. The sun has been very shy to show its face in the sky. It's been all gloomy and dark clouds with incessant rains.

My laundry basket is filled with dirty clothes but I can't wash them because I have no place to hang them to dry. I hope I don't run out of neat clothes soon. I'd hate to start repeating the dirty clothes.

I'm grateful that today is a public holiday. I wonder how I would have gone to work considering that the flood in my area is worse now and even my compound is flooded. I hope the rain stops soon. I'm looking forward to August break when we would have some respite from the rain.

2
$ 0.00
Avatar for theinkwell
1 year ago
Topics: Cryptocurrency, Life, Blog, Story, Writing, ...

Comments