I once had 429 Bitcoins.

2 22
Avatar for thegring
1 year ago

I purchased bitcoins at 20 cents for a guy wanting to buy a bag of weed from me. The price skyrocketed to about $2 a coin. I thought man if people catch on to this tech i might make a couple thousand off of these. I kept hopes up high and checked back every now and then to see the price.

Sponsors of thegring
empty
empty
empty

2 years later

Bitcoins had grown in value to over $10 at the time, but I was impatient. I remember thinking that it could be worth more tomorrow and sitting on my investment was silly. Two years had gone by BTC was at around 4 dollars, it was definitely not worth more. I considered selling but held on to it just in case. I had nothing I need to spend on anyways.

2011 my buddy says let's go to Mazatlan

Back then Bitcoin still wasn't worth much. It had taken a nose dive and was worth about $2 a coin in 2011, I was just a young man and still didn't know much about cryptocurrency. So I sold off my bitcoins to go on vacation in Mazatlan, Mexico with a friend for 10 days - at the time it was more than enough money to get by, but today I'm kicking myself for getting rid of them so easily.

A few years later i move to Mazatlan

Turns out i fell in love with Mazatlan and a special girl from there. I worked a job in IT and had the ability to work remote so i took out a visa and moved down there after talking to my employer. Everything was fine for about 3 years. Then I suddenly was let go without any notice or severence pay. It was the worst possible time for me financially. I had an 830 credit score but was barely making all my payments.I had just invested my last bit of money in a new GPU because my old one had fried. I had no money to get back to the states and nowhere to stay even if I did. I decided to muster up the last bit of money i had and registered an llc and decided to try and sell the only thing i knew how to do. Remote tech support.

The business has been unsuccessful

Business is failing I have gotten 1 customer in 6 months with my online presence. My once near-perfect credit score is now a dream with a whopping 589 last I checked. Struggling i found myself at crypto faucets trying to complete short links and gambling on free crypto i got on betfury. I was able to get 90 dollars once. I am now struggling to feed myself receiving assistance while i frantically apply for jobs online. I get interviews but once they find out where I'm living i get the usual we decided to go with another candidate email. I pause and reflect frequently on what life would have had in store for me had I kept my 429 bitcoins.

3
$ 0.02
$ 0.02 from @Bibijani01
Avatar for thegring
1 year ago

Comments

My gosh you'r involved in crypto from time when Bitcoincash was just $2 and later on it reached $10 and soo on.

But then what happened to your 429 btc and how you moved to your state.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I sold the BTC for about 900 dollars give or take. I used the money to come to Mexico from the US on a vacation. I met a girl there in mazatlan and a few years later i moved down here to be with her. Only to find out in the time i had been away she had lost her job and become a prostitute. I stayed though just not with her. It's beautiful here but even if i had just 1 of those BTC still I would be set. Instead im practically starving trying to adapt to a freelance lifestyle. I also feel bad for the dude i sold the weed to for those bitcoins i think he got the shit end of the stick.

$ 0.00
1 year ago