When you thought life will get better when you reach your 20s

0 16
Avatar for thegirlwholeaptthroughtime
3 years ago

When I was in high school I am a huge fan of fictional novels. I even borrow pocket books from my classmates and read stories offline from a mobile app. I spend most of my free time reading stories, which I believe the reason how I improve my writing skills. Since I was an aspiring writer back then, so I seek to it that my writing skills are well develop. That is why aside from reading, I really payed attention on practicing my writing skills through studying and paying attention to my English and writing related subjects throughout high school. Now going back to my passion with reading fictional stories, as I read and read stories from an author to an author I had come up with a silly idea. That maybe when I reach my twenties just like the main characters in the stories that I had read, I will be able to figure out what I wanted the most and maybe my life will get better. Funny isn’t it?

That is why I was too eager to be on my twenties. As other teenagers of my age worry as every year they get older, I myself is too excited to be on my twenties. As year and year passed by I can already picture out how my life would be just like the main characters from the books that I had read. Every night before sleeping I even imagine the life that I would be living by the time that I would be reaching my twenties. Taken for example by the time I am on my twenties, I will be studying at a prestigious college university taking up the course that I wanted the most. I will be enjoying all my years as a college student while growing well as a fine young lady.

But guess what happened? I am now on my twenties and the scenarios that I had imagined before going to sleep way back then when I was in high school never really came true. I am now in college, but I am not studying in a university. I am struggling throughout all my years as a college student, while I rarely have the time and opportunity to take care of myself. Nonetheless do you know what the most surprising part is? I am not disappointed. I may not be studying at a prestigious college university, but I am satisfied with the community college I am currently enrolled in. Moreover I was able to take the course I really wanted the most. I may be struggling throughout my years as a college student, but still throughout my struggling I became much stronger, persistent and wiser. In addition I was able to meet new people who had help me throughout my hardships whom I now call friends. I may rarely take care of myself by now, but at least I have learned how to love my flaws and value myself even more.

You see I have learned a few things from the silly idea that I had thought about when I was in high school. First, it does not mean when we reach our twenties our life will get better. Just like those fictional characters from the books that I had read and movies as well as series that I had watched. Life is full of surprises we never imagined. We often think ahead of the things that will be happening to us, and when things don’t go the way we wanted we either get disappointed or blame ourselves and the people around us. But instead of giving up, we should strive even harder. For maybe our success is just around the corner, waiting for the right time to occur in our lives. That is why as we wait for that success, let us work hard for they say that success taste better when we work hard for it.

Second, let us be happy for the success of other people. Though other people might be fortunate enough to be having the best of their lives on their twenties, but still instead of envying their success, talking bad things behind their back and wishing that their success would end quickly. We should cheer and praise them for the great milestone they are able to achieve at their age. Lastly, we should not pressure ourselves to be successful in our twenties. Though it is nice to see ourselves grow and prosper, but everyone has their own timeline and let us be patient. Let us slow down and learn how to appreciate all the progress that we are able to attain at our age.

As the saying goes “a glass of water cannot exist without a single drop.” All those progress that we had and we will be attaining as we grow older. No matter how small or big they may look, but all of them will have an impact in our lives. Which will help us develop ourselves to be the better version of us. Soon as we grow and grow little by little each day, one day we will be surprise for the success that we had dream and aspired might be knocking at our doorsteps. When that time comes we might be on our late twenties or we are no longer be on our twenties, but even so I want you and me to be happy. For the fruit of our endeavors had finally ripen and now we can finally taste our sweet success.

✒️ thegirlwholeaptthroughtime ||010521

1
$ 5.28
$ 5.28 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for thegirlwholeaptthroughtime
3 years ago

Comments