Voters Registration

0 16
Avatar for thegirlwholeaptthroughtime
3 years ago

“You are twenty-one years old, yet you are still unregistered to vote?”

Yes, I often received that a lot and I sometimes blame myself for not taking the opportunity to be registered way back then when I was seventeen years old. I was so naïve back then, I even remembered that our school had suspended the morning and afternoon class. Thus we could take all our time to go to our respective barangay halls, in order to comply with the voters registration requirements and get registered. But guess what I did? Instead of going to our barangay hall, I went straight home and watched a lot of movies the whole day. Thinking that being a registered voter was no big deal and not minding the opportunity I am putting into waste.

That is why for the next four years, on every election period instead of going to the voting precinct to fulfill my duty as a citizen in partaking towards choosing the next rightful leader of our barangay, city, province and country. I am at home watching news about the voting updates, wishing that someday—someday just like those people I will be able to officially participate and vote for the right person whom I think would do its best duty to lead, represent and help its people. You might wonder how it is that for the next four years I am still unable to get registered. Even though the voters registration is being hold yearly. Let’s just say that in every voter’s registration period, I am too busy with my duties and responsibilities as a student. That I often forget and set aside the chance to be registered every single year, for the next four years. Hence for this year— year 2021 I made it sure that I will be able to finally comply with the voters registration requirements and get registered.

As early as March of this year I had already been researching, asking questions with my friends and family relatives in regards about what are the process that needs to be taken in order to become a registered voter. I research and asked as often as possible in between my busy schedule as a student. I even visit as often as possible the Commission on Election (COMELEC) website on the internet. Just to be very sure if the preparations I am doing in order to become a registered voter is right. However every time I make an attempt to get registered unexpectedly things keep on happening. Which interferes with my plan, thus I never had the chance to get registered last month March, 2021. But thankfully on the second week of this month April, 2021 finally—after many wasted opportunities and chances I was able to get registered. But the process was not that easy, just like what my friends and family relatives had told me.

The day before we will be going to the Office of the City Election Officer where we would directly comply with the voters registration requirements and get registered. Me and my younger siblings who are also eligible to get registered since they are eighteen years old had prepared everything in advanced. We had photocopied our PSA certificates as well as our ID. We brought three ball pen, so that we no longer need to borrow from each other by the time we will be filling-in the registration form. We also brought biscuits, candies and bottled water, so that we won’t get hunger as we wait in there. We even had printed and laminated our COVID-19 QR Code just in case they will look for it.

The following day April 07, 2021 was the day— the day we will be registered. We woke up as early as 6:00am, even though we will depart by 1:00pm. That is how excited we are. We cleaned the house first, then feed our pets. After we are all done doing our household chores we then ate our breakfast and lunch all at once since we finished cleaning and feeding by 10:00am. Then we took a bath, dressed ourselves and went to the meeting place by 12:00pm. Where we would get a free ride back and forth from our barangay. It was almost 2:00pm that we were able to get a free ride, since the vehicle arrived forty-five minutes late. For the reason that the driver unexpectedly needs to run some important errands in the barangay hall. We were thirteen all in all excluding the driver, thus we were like jam-packed sardines inside a tin can. Thankfully due to my younger siblings’ fast reflexes, they were able to save us a good seat behind the driver. I sat on the right side besides the windowpane. Since I easily get nauseas inside a closed moving vehicle, thus I decided to open the windowpane of the vehicle.

As we arrived at the Office of the City Election Officer, we immediately fall in line. We waited and lined for an hour. However as we were almost a little closer to the end of the line one of the officer of the said office announced that we should go back tomorrow for we were caught by the cut-off time which is 3:00pm. We were all downhearted after hearing the announcement and asked if they could extend the officer hour a little longer to accommodate us. Since we were the only people left, nonetheless the officer told us that they must strictly oblige with the schedule and protocols. But as we are about to leave, she told us that we could left our registration forms at the office so that we will be prioritize by the next day, which we did.

The following day April 08, 2021 thankfully there where only very few people left who just like us are planning to get registered. We were accommodated immediately by the employees of the said office. The process was fast and orderly. I was first in line, after filling-in and complying with the necessary papers I was interviewed for a couple of minutes, then I got my two thumbs inked. After that I proceeded to the logbook area, then to the biometrics area, where they took a picture of me, my signature and thumb and index finger print. Then just like that I was finally registered.

After two tiring days of going back and forth, finally I and my siblings including their friend are now a registered voters. I am excited and looking forward on my very first vote in the next election period. After many wasted years, opportunities and chances. I can now partake towards choosing the next rightful leader that would lead, represent and aid the people of our country.

a picture of our thumbs after the voters registration

✒️ thegirlwholeaptthroughtime || 041421

2
$ 3.35
$ 3.35 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for thegirlwholeaptthroughtime
3 years ago

Comments