The Ease and Difficulty of Learning in the Midst of a Pandemic

1 38
Avatar for thegirlwholeaptthroughtime
3 years ago

Last January 11, 2021 was the formal beginning of our second semester for the school year 2020-2021. My classmates are still the same, however there are some quite changes that had occurred. First we have new course subjects and most of them are related towards concepts, disciplines, approaches and strategies towards teaching Social Studies to high school students. Which is different from the previous semester, wherein the course subjects focuses on the various branches of Social studies. Second, one of our favorite subject teacher, is no longer our teacher for this semester. Since she was needed by the other department to teach a research related subject. Even so despite of that unexpected occurrence, we are somewhat still happy. For we have a new subject teacher for the subject LIT 102. I can say that she is a highly proficient teacher and I am looking forward on learning new teachings and gaining new understanding on her subject.

I was hoping that by this semester we would be having our face-to-face classes. Since all of us have been longing to study together as well as to learn together inside the four corners of our classrooms. But because there is still a pandemic by now that could bring risk for the students as well as the teachers’ health. That is why our school has decided to continue conducting synchronous and asynchronous classes. Through synchronous classes, students learn at the same time. By conducting online classes through video conferences via Zoom or Google Meet. While on asynchronous classes, students learn at their own pace independently through studying and answering their modules.

As a student who is learning in the midst of this COVID-19 pandemic I have encountered numerous ease and difficulties. Which made me both grateful and somewhat utter curses at the same time. First, it made me strive harder. Since there is no teacher who will physically guide us. We necessary need to stand on our own and learn on our own. Which made me study even more. Reading PDF, research works and modules as well as studying PowerPoints and my learning notes became my daily routine. As I read and study every single day my knowledge and understanding widens. However there are often instances, especially on those hard subjects where we have confusions and problems. Since some of our subject teachers only do asynchronous classes. Therefore we honestly find it difficult learning even though we tried our best studying it on our modules. I hope that the subject teachers would put more effort on discussing and expounding concepts and lesson.

Second, finances. Way back then when we are still conducting face-to-face classes. In a day I spend Ᵽ50 for my transportation fee and Ᵽ10 pesos for my school and lunch allowance. Which is equivalent to Ᵽ60 per day, and if we try to multiply it by the number of days I go to school. Probably it would go around Ᵽ300 per week. Which is already quite a huge amount of expenses especially that my father’s salary is less that Ᵽ5,000 a month not to mention my two younger siblings school expenses, our food, house rent and other bills. However since by now we are learning in the comfort of our homes. Therefore the expenses allocated for our transportation fee, school and lunch allowance has been cut-off. By now we only spend for the load, which is needed for us to be able to connect to the internet and we only spend around Ᵽ200 pesos weekly which is equivalent to 18GB of data. Which is less costly compared to our expense during face-to-face classes.

Third, the use of gadget and availability of data/signal. In our house we only have one smart phone, and the three of us uses it alternately for us to attend our synchronous classes and for studying. However there are instances where our schedule overlaps, thus we find it hard deciding who should most likely use the phone in times when our schedule overlaps. That is why I decided to do my modules and study my lessons ahead of time. Hence in this way I will be able to avoid disturbing my younger siblings during their classes and they won’t be able to disturb me during my classes as well. Another concern that we frequently encounter is the signal/data. I don’t know if it is just in our neighborhood, but the signal/data had test our patience many times. From time to time it changes from 4G to H+ and vice versa. Which I personally find annoying, particularly when I am submitting activities and assignments online. There was once I finished the exam 30 minutes earlier, and as I was about to send a picture of my exam paper through Gmail then unexpectedly the signal/data started acting crazy. I started to get agitated, for I am afraid that I might not be able to pass my exam on time. Thankfully after countless attempt and some prayer I was able to submit it, but my heart was beating frantically for it was just a minute away before the deadline.

To be honest at first I only see the difficult side of learning in the midst of this pandemic. That is why I somewhat felt disheartened at the very beginning and almost at the verge of stopping temporally. However as days go by my discouragement slowly perish and my willingness to continue my studies rises dramatically. That is why I am very thankful towards the people who had help me and inspired me one way or another to continue despite of the many reasons to not. I know people who just like me continued to study despite of a roller coaster ride that learning in the midst of pandemic had brought and I commend us all for continuing. For we chose to sail on the ocean, despite of knowing that a perfect storm would come. For those people that I knew who chooses to temporarily stop their studies in the midst of this pandemic for reasons they chose not to say. I would like to praise you as well. For it also takes a lot of courage and endurance to temporally stop on something that you wanted the most, and not all of us has the guts to do so. That is why I want to tell you, you might had chosen to temporarily stop by now. But that doesn’t mean you won’t have your own success in life. Always remember that we all have our own pace in reaching our goals and dreams in life. That is why don’t be discourage and continue dreaming.

✒️ thegirlwholeaptthroughtime || 012921

5
$ 3.19
$ 3.19 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for thegirlwholeaptthroughtime
3 years ago

Comments

nice

$ 0.00
3 years ago