Plant tita in the making. 🌱

2 23
Avatar for thegirlwholeaptthroughtime
3 years ago

This pandemic had made everyone stay as often as possible in their respective houses. Due to this happening everyone’s daily life activities had been interrupted one way or another. Taken for example those people who has a very active lifestyle. Aside from doing their daily routines like going to school or work. They also either from time to time attend parties and gatherings. As well as go on outings, do some shopping and do their exercise routines at the gym.

As a way to deal with the major changes that had occurred in our lives due to the pandemic. Everyone is finding a way to at least divert themselves from the stress that the virus had caused them. However since we often stay at home to avoid getting COVID-19, therefore the things and activities that we could do is only limited. But even so we are still able to find activities that are able to at least somewhat perish our worries and brings happiness in our hearts.

Recently I had started a new hobby, a hobby I never taught that I would be really doing for real. It all started with a few stems of portulaca grandiflora that our neighbor had given us. At first I was hesitant to plant it. For I myself knew that when I try to grow plants, sadly it always end up dying. Taken for example, when I was in sixth grade. It was almost near the end of the school year when I brought pechay seeds, tomato seeds, eggplant seeds as well as fertilizers from a vendor at school. At first it was good, I was able to germinate the seeds and all of them grow well. However by the time that I was putting fertilizers on them I had noticed that they are slowly becoming weak and the next thing I knew they all died. It really break my heart, for all my effort was put into waste. Which caused my sixth grade self to cry so hard.

Another unfortunate happening where I failed at growing plants was when I was a first year college student. Our NSTP instructor had given us the task to grow a duranta plant. Which shall be one of our requirements to pass the semi-finals for the first semester. I can even still vividly remember what exactly our instructor had told us “if the plant lives and grow roots you will pass, but if it dies you will fail”. To make the long story short despite of all my efforts on taking care of my plant it still had died, which made me promise to myself that I would never plant again. Thankfully I was still able to pass the semi-finals. Since one of my friends, which was also my classmate had given me her extra duranta plant. She is indeed a lifesaver.

Going back to the present, after I had successfully planted and cultivated the portulaca grandiflora. The next thing I knew I am buying garden tools, flower pots and watching tutorial videos on YouTube on how to grow and take care of ornamental plants as well as vegetables. To be honest I never really had imagine that I would become a plant tita in the making. For those who has not heard this word before. “Plant Tita or Plant Tito” are terms used by the people today to address those who had become an enthusiast on growing and collecting plants.

Becoming a plant enthusiast is indeed one of the good choices I had made since the pandemic happened. Planting is indeed has many good benefits. Which I myself was able to experience. Such as it improved my learning abilities. Since I am a newbie on this matter, I really gave my time, attention and effort towards educating myself about plants. I searched online on how to properly grow and take care of plants. Moreover I also studied what are the different kinds of plants, its characteristics and etc. Which have drastically improve my focus on learning and retaining information. It also made our house more beautiful. I had noticed since I started planting in our backyard our house became more pleasing. The different colors of the leaves and flowers, as well as the different sizes of the plants added beauty on our surrounding.

It also reduced my stress. By growing, cultivating and taking care of my plants I am able to divert myself towards the things that causes me worries. Taken for example, last week I was really exhausted and stressed. For there are numerous requirements that I need to submit. As well as several exams that I need to take for the finals and I need to accomplish it all in one week. Thankfully after a very rough week I was able to relief all the stress that I had acquired by taking care of my plants. Lastly it makes me happy, planting makes me happy. At first I never imagine that you could find happiness by digging holes in the soil, making compost, germinating seeds, watering the plants and seeing them grow. But I guess I was wrong, for these small things that I do while planting are the reasons why I am happy every time.

By now the number of the population of the plant enthusiast are growing bigger and bigger from time to time. It could be because of the massive trend it had established on various social media platforms like Facebook, Twitter and Instagram. Another possible reason is the urge of the people to do something that could effectively divert their attention in the midst of this pandemic. Nonetheless no matter what the reason is, one thing is for sure planting is good and it could bring many good things in us.

✒️ thegirlwholeaptthroughtime || 122220

2
$ 5.84
$ 5.84 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for thegirlwholeaptthroughtime
3 years ago

Comments

Beautiful story! Glad you found something so nice as a hobby. It is as you say... it starts small with a tiny plant and the next thing you know you are shopping for gardening tools and stuff hahah

$ 0.00
3 years ago

thank you so much.

$ 0.00
3 years ago