My first vacation

0 18
Avatar for thegirlwholeaptthroughtime
3 years ago

I was just five years old back then, when I first went on a vacation. A vacation for a week. My companions on the said vacation were my mother, my two older cousins and my two younger siblings who were just three months old at that time. Before we went on the said vacation, my mother had prepared everything beforehand. Which took her more than a week, since we will be travelling with my two younger siblings. The foremost reasons why we are going on the said vacation aside from leisure and recreation. Is for us to see our grandparents, whom we haven’t seen for a long time and for us to be able to celebrate my grandfather’s birthday together with our other family relatives.

On the day that we traveled going to Butuan City, we rode an express bus and that was my first time riding the said vehicle. I seated near the window since my older cousin told me that the view near the window is beautiful. As the bus started to move, I felt a little nervous. Since it is the first time that I would be leaving far away from home. An hour had passed by the houses, buildings and establishments that I look at from the windowpane of my seat had turned into trees, coastlines and the crystal blue sea. What my older cousin told me was right, the seat next to the window is the best. For I am able to witness the beauty of the places that we passed by. However the next 180 minutes of our traveling was hell for me. I am starting to feel motion sickness. My head is aching, and I can already feel that I am about to throw up. My cousins, my mother and even the bus conductor is panicking. Thankfully a person seating in front of us handed me a plastic bag, and you can already picture out what happens next.

As we arrived at the Nisipit bus terminal, we went to the marketplace to eat lunch. The eatery that we went in was clean and it has a good ventilation. Perfect for that very sunny day. Moreover the food that they sell was budget friendly and delicious. I can even remember that my mother brought me two cups of rice, adobong manok, boiled egg and a cold beverage. After we had eaten our lunch, we went to a bakery nearby to buy a birthday cake. Since my Lolo’s birthday would be on the following day. Afterwards we rode a trisikad going to Buenavista, the place where my grandparents and other family relatives lives.

On the first day of our vacation we stayed at our grandparents’ house to take a rest after a long travel. While I was sitting at the porch, I can hear my mother and my grandparents as well as our other family relatives talked and laugh. As they chatted about how they have been from the past years I can feel that they really missed each other so much. From the way they spoke, and pay attention towards each other’s stories. When night came, Lola prepared escabeche. It is a sweet and sour fish dish, made from fried fish sauté with vinegar, tomatoes and other species. After eating a delicious dinner my uncle which was my mother’s younger brother came with a basket of ripped sweet mangoes. Which what we ate for dessert.

The following day was my Lolo’s birthday. Everyone was busy preparing and cooking savory dishes. While the adults are busy, I and my cousins went to my auntie’s land to get coconut for the buko salad that my mother would be making. When the afternoon came, the party started. We sang a happy birthday song towards our Lolo and he cried because of happiness. For it is his wish to see us all complete. After we ate we went to the open field just beside our grandparents’ house and we played with my other cousins. When night came, we went to the array of mangroves on the stream. We waited for quite long and I am starting to get annoyed for mosquitos keep biting me. However after I was about to leave my older cousin held my hand and pointed his other hand to the mangroves. My eyes widened and my heart beat erratically as I watched fireflies flying and dancing on the air. They were beautiful, truly beautiful.

On the remaining five days, we did various activities. Such on the third day we went to the corn field and harvested corn, we even dig the ground to gather sweet potatoes. Which what we ate for our snack on that day. On the fourth day we visited our great-grandfather’s house which is just a walked away from our grandparents’ house. In my great-grandfather’s house we played and ate boiled bananas. Afterwards our great-grandfather told us to gather and he told us stories. Which made me have a hard time sleeping at night, since most of them are horror stories. On the fifth day, we went back to my auntie’s place to harvest marang. A round tropical fruit that resembles to jackfruit, but it is smaller in shape and it has a sweet pulpy taste. Since we harvested many marang we rode a carabao to transport it back to my grandparent’s house and I must say riding a carabao is fun.

On the sixth day of our vacation, we just stayed on our grandparent’s and played outside. While everyone is busy. I went to the small shed where the ducks live. As I was about to pick up a little duckling the mother duck “quack” so loudly that made me froze. Then the next thing I knew I was running back to the house while carrying the duckling, since the mother duck furiously chased me. Unfortunately, as I thought my mother and grandparents would comfort me for what happened they scold me instead. For I shouldn’t play with animals for I might harm them or they might harm me. After I realized that what I acted was wrong, I went back to the small shed and told the mother duck how sorry I am for what I acted. When night came after we had eaten our dinner, we gathered at the porch and together we sang songs as my older cousin played the guitar. After we get tired of singing, we all went silent and let the crickets sing for us. While we are staring at the pitch dark sky adorned with the twinkling stars and the crescent moon. On the last day of our vacation I helped my mother and grandmother pack our things for by the following day we will be travelling back to Cagayan de Oro City. As I was awkwardly folding my clothes I listened to my mother and grandmother talked about how they are both thankful that they are able to see each other again personally. My grandmother even told me that since I am no longer the baby of the family I should be more responsible and be a good daughter to my parents and a good sister to my two younger siblings. I just smiled and nodded as a reply.

The following day, the day of our departure. Lola packed many fruits, vegetables and even chicken eggs for us to bring at home. We thanked her and hug her very highly. As we are riding a trisikad going back to Nisipit bus terminal I saw my mother shed a tear. I know that she already miss them even though we just left a minutes ago. As a way to comfort her, I held her hand and told her that she shouldn’t feel sad for we will be coming back next year. Moreover we can contact them from time to time since we have mobile phones. My mother smiled and pinched my cheeks. When we arrived at the bus terminal, Lolo helped us carry our luggage and stayed with us at the terminal until we are able to ride on a bus going back to Cagayan de Oro City. As the bus started to go I opened the windowpane of my seat and wave back to him and shouted “balik mi sunod, pag-amping mo permi. I love you” which is translated into “We will be back again, take care always. I love you”.

✒️ thegirlwholeaptthroughtime || 122720

1
$ 5.90
$ 5.90 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for thegirlwholeaptthroughtime
3 years ago

Comments