Citizenship Advancement Training (CAT)

0 879
Avatar for thegirlwholeaptthroughtime
3 years ago

When I was in junior high school, aside from my academic obligation as a student, I was very active as well with my extracurricular activity. When I was in ninth grade I joined Citizenship Advancement Training (CAT) an organization in our school. At first the reason why I joined this organization was I wanted to lose some weight and become fit. Seeing those CAT cadets and cadettes consistently doing their daily exercise in the morning and intense training in the afternoon, would surely help me with my goal in becoming fit and healthy.

Even though a great number of students hated them for being strict towards implementing the rules and regulations created by our school. Such as reprimanding students who do not wear or does not wear properly the prescribe uniform. As well as being strict on when to let the students out and confiscating things that are against the school rules and regulations. I myself was also one of those students who dislike them so much. For I find them annoying, boastful and brazen, but that was before I joined them.

As I joined their organization with the other aspiring students within my grade level. We went through various activities both physical and mental in order for them to assess and evaluate us, whether we are deserving to join their organization. Since we are “aspirants” during the time. It is a term they use to call their newcomers. Our uniform was different from them. We are wearing a kind of uniform which they called “Type C”. It is composed of white plain shirt, long pants, white or black shoes as well as belt and buckle. For the boys they should have the prescribe haircut, while for the girls their hair must be tied clean and neatly.

As we started the training period by the end of January, we would go to school as early as 6:00am. First we would help with cleaning our school. We would sweep the floor, segregate the trash and water the plants. After cleaning we will proceed to our training ground, which is a vacant ground in front of our school where we would do our morning exercise as well as our formal training. Once we are done with our training for that day, we will be dismissed and we would go straight home. For us to be able to prepare for our after class.

The first week of our aspirant training period was hard for me. I went through many adjustments, my body was always tired and I got a number of muscle aches due to the intense training. However thankfully after the preceding weeks it became easier for me. But then again I still find some of the exercise and training routines quite difficult, but at least my muscle aches had lessened.

As the school year ended, instead of staying at home we were told to attend the summer aspirant training. Wherein we would exercise, train, execute drills and attend short class discussions for a whole month. I felt excited for I heard good stories from our seniors on how wonderful and memorable it would be to attend the summer training. Thus without any hesitation I and the rest of the remaining aspirants who were able to survive the first two months of the training joined the summer training. Fast forward, after the summer training I learned many new things, had built good ties with the other aspirants and most especially the reason why I joined CAT was that I was able to lose some weight and I became fitter. Which made me very happy.

By the time I am a tenth grade student, our seniors had graduated thus it is time to choose the new officers who would lead and continue the duties and responsibilities of our seniors. It was a tough and long process. As the selection of the new officer is fast approaching the training, interviews and evaluation became tougher and stricter as well. On the day of the evaluation we were gathered at our organization’s office, everyone was silent and quite tense since our chairman was there as well. Since he will be the one who would be choosing to whom the rank would be given. After the selection of the new officer was done, everyone was happy while some was quite disappointed. As we arrived by the gymnasium we were surprised to see our seniors. They were there since they themselves was excited to know whom the new officers were. After hearing the news they congratulate us all with a big smile and hug. Then we all went to the plaza nearby and celebrated the new ranking selection with some street foods, laughter and fun.

As I continued with the said organization with my reaming years as a junior high school student. I was able to notice some good changes within myself. Such as I became much concern with our school. I participated and helped as often as possible when there are school activities in and outside of our school. I also became a law abiding student, who puts a great importance on our school laws. My leadership skills became better also, since I hold a high rank that enables me to lead the others. I was able to use these authority to lead them well in helping our school without abusing the power that was given to me. It also had enabled me to develop my time management skills, for I need to assure that no matter how much I dedicate myself towards our organization. I must not also forget my academic responsibility as a student. I also became much responsible with handling people, my academic obligation and myself as well.

All of the values that I had gained and developed throughout my journey as a member of the CAT organization of our school had contributed towards making me a better person. It had helped me gained a great amount of discipline and dedication. As well as it help me develop my intrapersonal and interpersonal communication skills. Thus I am very thankful that I made the right decision towards joining this said organization.

✒️ thegirlwholeaptthroughtime || 040321

3
$ 5.20
$ 5.20 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for thegirlwholeaptthroughtime
3 years ago

Comments