Boat Riding

0 20
Avatar for thegirlwholeaptthroughtime
3 years ago

When I was on 8th grade, our English teacher told us to make a 100 item bucket list that we should do before we reach our 30s. I wrote many things back then, and riding a boat is one of them. Way back then until now it is my wish to ride on a boat and explore the beauty of the sea. However for almost 7 years after I wrote that bucket list I wasn’t able to ride a boat due to many reasons. First, we rarely go to the beach. Second, if ever we had the chance to go to the beach there isn’t any available boat for us to rent and use. Third, lately I develop this fear of drowning, thus slowly I am reconsidering if I should go boating and accomplish that bucket list. Knowing that there is a great possibility that I would drown myself if ever the boat would flip around in deep sea water. However an unexpected thing happened. Last February 26, 2021. Me and Grace went to Lovely’s house (Grace and Lovely are both my classmates and friends at the same time).

We went there early in the morning to get free fish. As we are travelling going to Lovely’s house I was mesmerized to see the morning view. You see since the pandemic happened I rarely go outside and when I do it is during in the late afternoon to buy groceries and other supplies in the market. Thus seeing the view of the places I wasn’t able to see for almost a year made my heart happy. By the time we arrived at Lovely’s place, we were welcomed by the cold salty air coming from the sea. Many people are gathered by the seashore and as what Lovely told us, it is a common scene especially if it is fish catching season.

Instead of leaving instantly after receiving our buckets of free fish, we decided to stay for a little longer and appreciated the view. The morning view of the sea, is indeed a feast for the eyes. The small strikes of the waves on the beach seems like music to our ears. While the horizon from afar where the clear sky and the crystal blue ocean meet seems like a painting, so beautiful yet so unreal. As we talk I keep on glancing on the pump boats from afar. Even though the sun is slowly rising up, there are still people catching fish in the deep water despite of the blinding sunlight and its warmth. Then out of nowhere, Grace suddenly mentioned she wanted to ride a boat that day. Which caught my attention, for a part of me also wanted to ride one that time. Thus Lovely called her brother-in-law and asked permission if we could ride their boat, which he instantly said yes.

Grace and I are both smiling happily from ear to ear. My heart is pounding so loudly due to the excitement rushing through my vines. As we were about to ride, I suddenly felt a little scared for a scene of me drowning suddenly pop-out in my head. Thus I jokingly said “Just a reminder guys I don’t know how to swim, so just in case please keep an eye on Me.” then they laugh for a couple of seconds and told me not to worry for everything would be fine. As the engine of the boat started I felt the shaking and I myself started to shake in fear as well. However as we went farther in deep sea, slowly my fear is perishing and was replaced by complete amusement.

As I mentioned earlier the view of the sea from the shore was a feast for the eyes, but the view of the sea from where we are that time is far more breathtaking. The sea water is glimmering like crystals as the sunlight refracts on the water. As I take a glance below, I can’t see anything except for the deep blue water that feels like an endless void. We first went on the west side, as the boat run faster our clothes are slowly getting soaked by the salty water due to the splashes made by the boat. But instead of getting annoyed, we felt amazement instead as we passed by a huge ship, and when I say huge I bet it is far bigger than a seven story building. As we come nearer at the ship, we are also looking smaller and smaller. That I thought it would take like a hundred of me stacked upward, for me to be able to reach the deck of the ship. After passing by that gigantic ship we went to a dock which is a hundred meters away. Then we made a U-turn and went to the east side.

By the time we are travelling to the east side, a number of flying fish were leaping along with our boat. Which again made my mouth uttered “wow” in silence. For the last time I show that kind of scenery was in the move “The life of Pi”. After that short encounterment with the flying fishes. I then look around and my attention was caught by a single golden trumpet tree standing mighty along an array of green trees on the mountain side. Aside from riding a boat, it was also on my bucket list to see a golden trumpet tree up close. Thus seeing that single golden trumpet tree, even from a far had surely made my heart do a summersault.

By the time we reached the destination, Lovely’s brother-in-law turned the engine off and he started rowing the boat slowly. As what Lovely told us the reason why he did it was because, if the engine is still on even though we are in the shallow part of the sea. We might end up hitting the corals, which is something we wouldn’t want to happen. As the boat started moving slowly my eyes is already glued below. However I couldn’t see anything clearly below due to the green algae’s floating around. But as we continued moving slowly I was able to saw big clamps sleeping peacefully below and in just a short while the water being covered by green algae’s is slowly getting clearer and bluer and finally I saw huge corals and fishes of different kinds swimming calmly below.

After we went to the coral area, we then went back to the shoreline. As we arrived by the shore, /Grace and I thanked Lovely and her brother-in-law wholeheartedly for that wonderful experience. I guess it is a good thing that I was able to mustered every bit of courage in me and face my fear. For I was able to ride that boat and witness many beautiful things up close and from afar.

✒️ thegirlwholeaptthroughtime || 032521

2
$ 4.49
$ 4.49 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for thegirlwholeaptthroughtime
3 years ago

Comments