A fragment of my childhood memory

0 14
Avatar for thegirlwholeaptthroughtime
3 years ago

I woke up to the noise coming from the kitchen. But instead of leaving the cozy bed, I buried my face on the pillow and closed my eyes again. I heard footsteps approaching my direction. Then suddenly a callused hand started shaking my shoulder telling me to wake up. As I open my eyes I saw my mother. She has a slightly tanned complexion, her slightly round eyes resembles the color of nut brown. She prefers her ebony curly hair above her nape. For she finds it tiresome to have long hair. But I don’t mind, for I find her the most beautiful. Especially when she smiles at us. As well as when she utters word of comfort and love whenever she embraces us tightly or plant small kisses around our faces. When she noticed that I woke up from her light shake. She told me to stand up and go to the table for the breakfast is ready. But then again my six year’s old self is quite hardheaded, so instead of obeying I told her “mother can I just sleep for another 5 minutes. Today is Saturday there is no class.” Then I tried covering myself with blanket. However she pulled the blanket and replied “I know it is Saturday, but I cannot afford seeing my children laying wide awake on bed. With nothing in their stomach.” Then she glared at me.

I felt a slight terror in my spine and quickly leapt out of bed. I ran out of our room and went to the kitchen area. There I saw my two younger siblings eating heartily. They were born on year 2002. Therefore I am three years older than them, since I was born on 1999. They are twins, yet I find it funny why I can’t see any resemblance between them. I mean it is not like they are not related or the hospital tried exchanging them with the other babies. But I can easily distinguish who is who by just taking a quick glance on them. They have gaps between their tiny milk teeth. Maybe because I often feed them with candies and chocolates whenever no one is looking around. Their round chubby cheeks makes me want to pinch them so hard. But I prefer not to for their cry sounds like an engine of a tractor and trust me you will find it annoying and hilarious at the same time.

I pulled the empty chair besides my father and greeted him a bright good morning. He is sipping his morning coffee as he watched news broadcast on our second-hand television. Which we brought for a cheap price from a Taiwanese Store in the City. My father is a tall man, his complexion is also slightly tanned. He has an oval body frame. But instead of body fats, it is mostly composed of muscles. Generally because he works at a wood production. Where he delivers, lifts and cuts big chunks of wood every day for a living. Others find him scary, maybe because of the way he looks and how loud he talks. But when you get to know him well. He is a very caring, hardworking and loving father who loves to talk too much. Which is very contradicting to what people perceived about him.

When afternoon came my father already left for work. While the four of us where gathered at the living room. My mother laid down a mat and put down some pillows. You see our parents told us that since we are still young we need to sleep as often as possible. For us to grow tall and well. That is why every afternoon we need to sleep, but unfortunately I have a hard time sleeping in the afternoon. Especially when there are kids around my age playing happily outside our house. Thus I waited for my mother and two younger siblings to fell asleep. When they started snoring lightly. I carefully stand up and tiptoed going outside. I was very happy for I was able to escape quietly. I called one of the kids and joined on their game. I was happy playing, even though the scorching heat of the sun brings sting to my skin and my shirt is soaked with sweat. I was about to get caught while we are playing chasing game. When a familiar angry voice called my name on repeat. As I turned around it was mother and I can see anger written on her face. She was holding one of my younger siblings on her left hand, while the other hand is carrying a broom. I felt a little nervous for I know what will happen next.

Fast forward, I am now back again inside our house crying while wiping my tears with the hem of my shirt. My mother scolded me for like fifteen minutes. Telling me I shouldn’t sneak outside when it is siesta time. I just keep on nodding my head as a reply. After she scolded me, she asked me to come towards her. She then grab a clean handkerchief and wiped away my tears and runny nose. The she changed my sweat-soaked shirt and combed my chaotic waist-length hair neatly. Then we went to the kitchen and she cooked banana cue. A deep fired banana snack coated with caramelized brown sugar. Which we ate with a cold orange juice.

When night falls, we took a quick shower to clean ourselves. Afterwards I stayed at the living room as I look after my two younger siblings as they play. While watching my favorite cartoon series at the same time. My mother is at the kitchen preparing for our dinner. When suddenly I heard a knock on our front door and it opened. It was my father who just came back from work, carrying a plastic bag with food. Which we shall be eating for dinner. I ran towards him and asked for his right hand. Then I slightly bowed down my forehead to touch the back of his hand. This act is called “pagmamano”. It is a Filipino practice, which we do to respectfully great our elders. Which in my case is my father. Then my two younger siblings ran towards him and mimicked my act.

As we are eating our dinner I can see how both of my parents seems tired. Working all day. But instead of frowning they are smiling and laughing happily in front of us. Which I find amazing, thus I decided that by the time I will be finishing my studies and land on a good paying job. I would treat my parents with a good meal at a nice restaurant as often as possible. I would also buy them things they weren’t able to have. For either they can’t afford it or they need to keep the money for more important things. I would also seek to it that we can travel from different places maybe once, twice or thrice a year. I would also take over the responsibility of sending and supporting my younger siblings in their studies. Thus my parents won’t no longer have to worry financially about my younger sisters by the time they will be attending college. Lastly I would buy them a beautiful house and a wide lot. I know I am quite ambitious for a six year old. Who barely can’t count more than 100 and read a word more than three syllables. But then again dreaming isn’t really that bad, especially to a six years old child who dreams not just for herself but also for the betterment of her family as well.

By the time we are done eating our dinner, I assisted my mother in cleaning the table and washing the dishes. Afterwards we brushed our teeth together with my two younger siblings, then went to our room. Before we rest on the bed our mother brushed our hair more than 100 times. Then she kissed our forehead and uttered a sweet good night before covering us with a comfy blanket to sleep.

✒️ thegirlwholeaptthroughtime || 021821

1
$ 3.91
$ 3.91 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for thegirlwholeaptthroughtime
3 years ago

Comments