Reading Habits

3 24
Avatar for thebookreyviews
2 years ago
Sponsors of thebookreyviews
empty
empty
empty

Annotations, creased spines, dog ears, notes and scribbles on book pages is a known taboo in the reading community. If you prefer your books in pristine and untouched-quality-like condition, word of advice, this article may not be for you. Viewer discretion IS advised.

Don't get me wrong, books are sacred. The reason I used to avoid having people borrow books from me was because I didn't trust them. What if they return the book with torn pages? What if they accidentally wrote on the cover? What if they fold the pages? What if they leave it with a child unattended and the child would draw on the pages or worse, rip the cover? What if they were drinking coffee and by some accident, the coffee ended up soaking the book? What if it got thrown in the pits of hell?

Do I still think like this? Yes and do I still avoid having people borrow books from me? Still yes but now, it's not because I don't want creased spines, blotched pages, or dog ears, no, I do that myself, but it's mostly because the pages are personal - my hidden thoughts lurk inside the pages.

My Reading Habits:

  • Annotate - I usually write on the pages or if not, I write on sitcky notes and scratch papers then stick them on the pages. Whatever is thought provoking or relatable to me, I just go and pour all my thoughts and emotions. This is also the reason why I really have to take my time in reading. I'm a fast reader but I'm slowing down because of this habit but no regrets no regrets. This has made reading more enjoyable and important for me honestly. My books that have more annotations and tabs are the most loved and personal.

Photos taken from Pinterest
  • Tab the Pages - I didn't think putting tabs on books was a thing back then but I used to just do this with no proper knowledge. I'd cut out small pieces of paper and glue them on the side of the pages so I can flip through them and reread those pages over and over. Since I started reading again, I decided to buy tabs. They're more convenient because they're sturdy compared to paper and they don't need to be glued in order for them to stick. Since I'm doing my utmost best to save, I usually cut the tabs in half so I can have more. Every color represents something, sometimes blue is for quotes or parts that make me sad, orange for parts that should be remembered, pink for romance, etc.

Photo taken from Pinterest
  • Highlight, Underline and Circle Phrases - I started off slow. I started with underlining phrases and it took me years to start writing on the pages (years because I only read about 5-8 books a year before). I usually underline the parts that I think are relatable or nice. Every now and then, I'd go through my books and open them randomly to see all the phrases and parts I've highlighted and underlined and it's like free therapy, I mean, advice - like going over random advices.

Photo taken from Pinterest
  • Kiss Marks - I've done this only once but I'd definitely do it again. The page that I left kiss marks on was a page that I was so enthralled with. Everything was beautiful. We usually kiss people and pets to indicate our fondness and that's exactly what I did to the book.

Photo taken from Pinterest
  • Dog Ears and Bookmarks - I thrift books. Books sold in book sales are usually second hand or old editions and I think they're prettier and less intimidating. Yellow and tanning pages smell better too. I usually fold the pages of my thrifted books and use bookmarks for the new ones. I use pens, pencils, tabs, mini envelopes, or freebies from bookshops such as starbucks cards and thank you letters, as bookmarks.

Photo taken from Pinterest
  • Read the Whole Day or Don't Read at All - I have to engross myself to fully become attached with the book that I'm reading. I don't like dividing my attention too much or else I'd disassociate. I won't understand what I'm reading and it just isn't much of a satisying experience when I have to stop on certain parts of the book. I just really prefer to finish a book ine one day so that the feelings I've invested remain the same.

Photo taken from Pinterest

I may have click baited you with 'creased spines' because even I still have a fight or flight relationship with that. I love buying books with creased spines but I can't crease them with my own hands, much less hand it to someone else and let them do it. I did, however, force myself to crease a classic I just bought and I felt like that was a very regretful act.

These habits are some of the ways I get to fully engross myself with books I'm currently reading. The more annotated, tabbed, and worn out, the more loved.

How about you? Have you done any of these habits? Or would you like to try them too?

3
$ 0.05
$ 0.05 from @keeneek
Sponsors of thebookreyviews
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for thebookreyviews
2 years ago

Comments

Except for the kiss marks and reading all day, I've done the other things in my academic or devotional books. But with the novel books? Hehe. I just can't. I even freak out every time there's a tiny fold on the pages. There was one time a friend of mine returned my book with a creased spine, torn pages, and such. So I told her that it was not my book and she bought a new one for me. I'm a beatch if it's the book condition we are talking about. That's why I never post my books on my social media account again because my friends would message me to borrow them. And I still have more than five unreturned books. Ungrateful peeps! tsss.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I used to be like that! Besides, "borrowing" books is synonymous to letting them keep it. I've let three people borrow some books, one was lost and the two, well, they're better off given at this point. I just make up excuses when some of my friends ask if they could borrow some books lmao. But MORE THAN 5 unreturned books?! I can't handle that. Have you tried asking them recently? I'd pester them for real ahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Two of them said that they can't remember they borrowed a book from me. The first one happened in my junior year in high school. It was Diary of Anne Frank, the first 'expensive' book that I bought. She borrowed my book, while I borrowed her Bloodline by Sidney Sheldon. I returned it first because I read fast during hs days. Then the next thing I know, she can't remember she borrowed something. 🙄 The others, I can't personally ask them since I'm away. That's why no-no to borrowing books. I'll just look for an epub for them. 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago