its overall stats make him a decent unit - my reason to play Molten Ash Golem in Splinterlands

0 15
Avatar for tamdike
1 year ago

So welcome onboard in a new week and in one of my unit reviews in the Splinterverse!
This week it is about the "Molten Ash Golem" a Unit of Fire Splinter.

As always I am still somehow chained to bcx1-units which is only changing very slowly, but instead in a very expensive manner! Do you remember I told you last week I upgraded my first summoner to level 2? -This week we are already at level 3... what can I say... I bought another 9 bcx of this summoner 9 * $1.50 = another $13.50 for upgrading.
But the money spent to upgrade my summoner does not upgrade my units :/ Therefore no money is left which means I am still reviewing bcx1-units ;)

Let's have a look at the Molten Ash Golem's stats:
First (+): 9 health that is nice and high!
Second (-): Ranged attack of 1. This is somehow unusual for Fire Splinter units.
Third (+): But you cannot judge this unit without looking at the Close Range ability which really comes in handy for each ranged unit.
Fourth (o): Molten Ash Golem costs 6 mana which is not cheap, but not unreasonably expensive.

And my battle of the week featuring Molten Ash Golem which you can find here:
https://splinterlands.com?p=battle&id=sl_f1d0e7d1b5d6e115c6479c40096612af&ref=jdike

This battle has hard facts of: 21 mana cap, Modern format, Rule sets: Noxious Fumes

Opponent's setup was obviously first and foremost to counter magic attacks. Lucky I was more focused on saving my forgotten one until the Noxious Fumes wiped out most of the enemy's units.

To my surprise one of my expendable units survived Round 1, but otherwise nothing worth noticing happened here.

Round 2... I just could not wait for the enemy's Merdaali healer to go down.
But furthermore one could notice that the Molten Ash Golem did what it had to do: Survive! -Because of its really high health it withstood posion as well as attacks and still stood at the end of Round 2.

... and so the Molten Ash Golem still stood in Round 3, as well.

Only the poison of Round 4 took him down, but by then it had fulfilled its purpose in my lineup: Guarding the Forgotten one unitl Oshannus had been weakened a lot.
The Forgotten even missed Oshannus once, but still it was not enough for my enemy to win and the Forgotten secured a victory for my team!

So all in all I think you could say the Molten Ash Golem lives by its combination of very high health, its ability and a somewhat okayish mana cost. As you might have seen in the battle above there are some easy identifiable use-cases.

To be honest, I used the Golem prior to this review not soo often, but probably will in the future!

If you happen to read all the way of this article, but have not yet signed up for Splinterlands, feel free to use my sign-up link: https://splinterlands.com?ref=jdike

0
$ 0.00
Avatar for tamdike
1 year ago

Comments