Himu part-10 : I went out in search of Yad.

0 4
Avatar for tahminaakter
3 years ago

At eleven o'clock at night I went out in search of Yad.

I remember at Mirpur number ten, C&B warehouse. Ceramic slabs of road culverts piled up inside the warehouse. It looks like a huge cylinder. Yadav's family in one of them. As soon as he called out from outside, he said happily, "Come on." I will enter with my head down. Wait a second, turn on the light. He lit the cup. I entered. A little rotten stench entered his nose.

"I remember the smell is turning my entrails upside down."

‘Smell for the first moment. Then I won't get it. Put your head down. '

One end of the cylinder slab is wrapped in polythene, the other end is a burlap curtain. An old blanket is laid out vertically below. Iyad is sitting on the blanket smiling.

‘I knew you would come. I did not inform you on purpose. You're the greyhound type. I will come sniffing the smell. How do you see my family? '

"Not bad."

‘Doesn’t mean evil? Excellent. Do you feel cold? '

"No."

‘Facing east-west. There is no way for the north wind to enter. Do you have mosquitoes? '

"No."

‘One face is covered with polythene, the other face is covered with burlap. There is no way for mosquitoes to enter. '

‘Where did I find such a comfortable place?’

‘There is more comfort than this. The rent is high. '

I was surprised and said, you have to pay the rent!

"Of course you have to."

‘How much does it cost?’

"Two rupees."

‘Two rupees a month?’

Iyad said annoyed, you went crazy? Have you thought about the period of Shaista Khan? Two rupees per night. The charge is higher in winter. One rupee per night in summer. No matter the monthly contract.

‘Who rents?’

‘There is a chief. Sardar takes. C&B-B takes the doorman, takes the police, a lot of sharing. I don't know. "

‘Does anyone live on two bucks?’

‘Of course there is. Which is not empty. Lots of space without it. In some places the whole family is united. Have a cup of tea? '

‘Do you have tea here?’

‘Oh no. But it is close by. If you call, it will go through. Tea, cigarettes, drink. '

"I think you're happy."

‘Of course I’m happy. There is no thought. You don't have to worry about who said what a comfortable sleep it is, you can't believe it. Do you know what I think? All of us should be beggars for a while just to know what a comfortable sleep is. There is no comparison to the community feeling among the beggars. From the outside we think one beggar can't see another beggar, that's very wrong. Everyone is looking for everyone. Hold on, smoke. '

‘Have you caught a cigarette?’

‘Huh, I got it. I ate cannabis one night near the High Court shrine. I turned my head and fell. I woke up in the morning — ha ha ha. '

Iyad shook his head and started laughing. I said, do not think of Neetu?

Iyad remained silent for a while and said, no.

‘Absolutely not?’

‘Oops. I remembered what you said. '

"Don't you want to know how he is?"

"It simply came to our notice then. Why be bad? '

‘How is your real work going?’

‘Not moving. Of course I'm not singing myself. There is nothing to hurry. Be slow. First I merged them with the main stream — then. '

‘Couldn’t they blend in with the mainstream here?’

‘Oops. They are very clever, I understand Himu, he quickly realized that I am not one of them. Someone from outside. '

‘Don’t say anything?’

‘No, don’t say anything. Is silent. But there are many like me. '

"What do you say?"

‘The beggar turns around with various pushes. There are several foreigners. One of them is from the Netherlands, a huge thief. I didn't say whether it was tea or not. Khabi? '

'Eat.'

Iyad removed the jute curtain and called, Tulsi, Tulsi, two teas.

‘Look at Tulsi a wonderful girl. I have never seen such a good girl in my life.

‘How old is Tulsi?’

‘It will be seven or eight. Not much. '

‘Does he beg?’

‘Gabtali sells tea at the bus stand. Tulsi's father and he are in business. Good income. '

Tulsi came in with tea. Beautiful warm sweater on the girl. The hair on the head is red. Blonde girl Iyad said, Tulsi is my very close friend.

Tulsi looked at me sideways, said nothing. Iyad said, have a cup of tea, I will take it later. Himu, how did I see Tulsi?

"Good."

‘Deadly wit! Do you know how I understood? Tulsi told me that two people were watching me. I didn't understand anything. "

"Are the two of you watching?"

‘Huh. Neetu's deeds. It is his habit to keep an eye on me all the time. One day I will see Tutti-Futike present. '

‘What to do if present?’

Iyad said in a serious voice, if he is really present, then I will say, stay with me Neetu.

‘Do you think Neetu will stay?’

‘Nothing can be said, it can be. It's comfortable to be here. From one night, you can feel it yourself. Stay? '

"Uh, I'm out of breath."

‘Kupi’s breath is suffocating. I will see the comfort as soon as the cup is extinguished. '

Iad blows out the cup and it is dark all around. I have never seen such darkness in my life. '

"Himu."

"Huh."

‘I haven’t started a day or two with beggars, yet I’m getting weird weird information. Let me tell you - our idea is that beggars get more begging on one or two dates of the month. People have salary money in their hands. They give more than begging. That's not the point at all. The biggest begging is in the last week of the month. Isn't that interesting? '

‘Huh. Interesting. '

‘There is a lot of research. Research is also needed on those who are begging. No work has been done in this direction. There is a classification of beggars, you know? '

"I don't know, but I can guess."

Do you know that atheism is the most beggarly thing?

"I can guess."

‘The family structure has collapsed. Husband and wife live together, while the wife returns to the husband with someone else for some time. This is also true of husbands — they are creating a whole new kind of society. The laws of that society are different. They are becoming like nomads. No more than three nights in a row. Wandering around. Do you find it interesting?

"Looks like it."

‘The survey I did earlier about the income of beggars is completely wrong. Among the beggars, new mothers, that is, those whose children are one month or two months old, can earn very well. However, in these cases, the new mother's head does not appear to be weak — the baby is rented. Forty to fifty rupees daily rent. I get so much information that you can't even imagine. It will take a lifetime to get this information. '

‘Does this mean that you will spend your life in this pit? Won't I go back to Neetu? '

Iad raised his hi and said, let's see.

"I'm leaving today."

‘Will you come tomorrow?’

‘I don’t understand I can come. Do you need anything? If you want, tell me, I will bring it. '

"It doesn't take anything."

‘Need money?’

‘No. If you have a handkerchief in your pocket. I have a cold. The lack of handkerchiefs is causing some problems. '

I got out of the yard and went down to the main road and saw the manager waiting for the car. I said, you have not gone yet? Go away.

"Let me deliver you, sir."

‘I’ll walk home. You don't have to deliver. '

‘What shall I tell you?’

I'll see him in a few days. I will say whatever I want then. '

"He is very restless, sir."

"I understand."

‘Can you come tomorrow morning?’

"No."

‘When are you coming? It is better for me to say the exact day. sister will ask, if you can't say anything, you will be angry. '

‘Born as a manager the boss’s anger has to be endured. If you were born a beggar, no one would have to borrow. Survivors who don't have to be respected for their kindness, aren't they? '

The manager did not answer. He looked at her with sad eyes. I feel sorry for the poor - but there is nothing to do. It was not time to go to meet Neetu. Neetu will have to wait.

1
$ 0.00
Avatar for tahminaakter
3 years ago

Comments